We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“French class and sophistication” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #29 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Alleins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French class and sophistication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been staying at the St James regularly for the past 8 years and I have never, never been desapointed.
Maintaining such a level of excellence is quite an achievement. Well done to every member of staff of make each stay a special one.
Simply the best hotel in London on all account.
Don't look further, you will not be desapointed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NAFaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I truly thank you for your loyalty towards Sofitel London St James!

Thank you also for highly praising our standards of service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for many many more years.

A très bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,898
    565
    116
    42
    21
See reviews for
856
1,579
253
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sofitel St James recently and we were really pleased with the overall Sofitel experience. Room was an ok size, with all the plush comfort of Sofitel! Lovely bedding and towels. Food was to a high quality with some quirky twists! Loved the black pudding scotch egg with pickle. Fantastic location for business and sight seeing! We will stay in this hotel again as its location for the theatres, restaurants and London sights was second to non.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for such positive a feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the food served in our restaurant The Balcon.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our assets.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Husband and I booked a trip as a gift to your son and his fiancé.The one thing I insisted on was that the four of us stay at the Sofital St.James. We all agreed that our stay at this hotel made the difference between having just a vacation and Having one of the Best vacations! Location was super convent - staffing top notch, warm, caring, helpful- lovely rooms- super ambiance all around ( something as simple as the flowers were changed daily in the lobby was so lovely to see and experience ) Fabulous spa - loved the high tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayala F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am most pleased to hear that you have been enchanted by the whole team at Sofitel London St James. Indeed we genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and they can tell that our service comes from the heart.

I thank you also for pointing out our "fabulous" So-SPA.

The Rose Lounge where you have had your Afternoon Tea is the perfect room to be pampered in the English tradition with a French touch.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our recent stay here,was a memorable week in the life...As a grand prize winner of a contest by the Coca-Cola Co.,with almost all expenses paid,we chose London and this fine Hotel.The staff was very competent and helpfull.Many spoke French,which was appreciated by my wife.Our Superior room was quite adequate.The breakfast buffet had a plentiful selection to choose from.The Hotel's great location in the heart of the west-end.permitted us to visit much of the best attractions by foot or by the city's double-decker buses to get to some farther attractions using the Oyster Card wich is easy and cheap to use..Overall,found London to be a great place to visit, ,very clean city and not that expensive if you take the time to search in advance of your trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife have had such a "memorable week" at Sofitel London St James! Thank you for pointing this out in your feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back as often as possible as Canada is a bit far away.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had to go to The ExCel for business and decided to try it, our first time in a Sofitel Hotel but the reviews on Tripadvisor were very good.
We checked in and they kindly upgraded our room which was very nice, but when we got to the room they had upgraded us to a Luxury Disabled room which didn’t have a bath but a large shower.
We decided to go back to reception and ask to change as we preferred a bath and a shower, this was done without any real issue and we have a very nice room on the 6th floor.
One thing I will say about this hotel is that the rooms are very quiet to say it is in the centre of London and you cannot hear any traffic noise.
We went for lunch at The Balcon restaurant which was very good and I have already reviewed this.
We went out that night for a meal but when returning to the hotel we tried The St James Bar and yet again great staff, great atmosphere and had a really good time.
Breakfast – this was really very good, the best breakfast I have had in a 5 star hotel in a very long time and would recommend to anyone any day of the week.
When we were leaving the restaurant after breakfast a member of the management team came over to my Husband and myself to say there had been an issue with our car and that they had damaged one of the wheels getting it out of the car park, but not for us to worry as they would sort all of this out for us as the damage was enough to need the wheel replacing.

The reason why I have not reviewed the hotel before now was the simple fact that I wanted to make sure they were true to their word and that they would sort this out, which I am very happy to say they have and that we have booked again to stay for 2 nights in June and if the service and food is as good as before this place will now be our preferred London hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I thank you for your generous feedback about Sofitel London St James as well as about our restaurant The Balcon!

I thank you for mentioning the good atmosphere you have felt all over the hotel areas. As a matter of fact we proud ourselves in delivering high standards of services in a genuine way. I am pleased to hear that you have felt so.

We look forward to welcoming you back in June.

A bientôt.

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i spent 4 nights on this hotel. The hotel is very beautiful and luxurious, the staff is great and make you feel easy. The breakfast is fantastic! The room was a little but small for the price but inside of the room you have all the convinient goods to make your stay very confortable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I thank you for your praise regarding the high level of service provided by the whole team at Sofitel London St James.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a "fantastic breakfast" as we proud ourselves in using only the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

great building, great breakfast, grrrrrrrrrrreat SPA, great location, very good service and no attitude

I was there once for bus, meetings but from now on I ll be staying there no matter what the reason to be in London is

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Do_it_now_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am extremely thankful to all of your compliments regarding the high standards of services delivered all over the hotel areas.

We then look forward to welcoming you back both for business and leisure purposes.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#25 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing