We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #27 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for a mini city break. Overall stay was fantastic. The location cant be beaten, we did not have to take the underground once, you can walk to most places. The staff were overly kind and attentive. Great bonus was tea and expresso machine, upon request, in your room which is unusual in 5*. Suprisingly our room was so quiet and serene when in such a hectic city. Will return next time visiting London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraSumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to write about your fantastic stay at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed our location is perfect as the hotel is on the quiet Waterloo Place however at a stone's throw away from all the major attractions that London can offer.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,052
    591
    121
    43
    21
See reviews for
924
1,646
259
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed 'last-minute.com' & all my expectations were surpassed. From the feel of the sheets, to the quality of the decor, to the peace in central London, to the welcome, & exceptionally attentive service. Everything was perfect. I shall stay here whenever I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
What an amazing feedback! Thank you for that!

We were delighted to read that "everything was perfect" during your stay at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in our haven of peace.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sofitel as part of her birthday celebration which was a trip to the theatre to see Phantom of the Opera. I chose the Sofitel as a treat because it was located near the theatre and to stay in a 5 star hotel. Having stayed in 5 star hotels in other parts of the world I can say the service at the Sofitel is truly 5 star and the whole experience was amazing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and had everything we needed and the way we were looked after was nothing short of like kings and queens. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank paul_ntfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am truly glad to hear that you and your girlfriend have had such an amazing time at Sofitel London St James.

Our passion is to indulge all of our guests and your wonderful feedback encourages us to keep on providing such high standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in March 2013 for the weekend.
What a beautiful place. The staff bend over backwards to accomodate your every need, including giving you an umbrella to go outside with while taking a smoke (very nice touch).
Room service arrived bang on the time stated when ordered and the food was exquisite.
The location is perfect. It's not too close to any bars or clubs so there is no noise nearby.
However, these places are no further than a ten minute walk away.
I never appreciated London until this and I believe it was because of our treatment and it's excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Indeed we do our utmost to accommodate all of our guests' requests and I am pleased to hear that we have fulfilled your expectations in terms of service.

I thank you also for pointing out the exquisite cuisine served by Room Service.

We look forward to your next stay in the centrally located Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for two nights and cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The decor is fantastic and the room was beautiful. Everything was spotless. The two highlights; the perfect location (5 minute stroll to Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square) and the incredible staff. Food is expensive but worth the treat in these surroundings.

We will definitely return and have been recommending to everyone that they should stay here when visiting London.

Thanks to all, especially Juliette at Reception - super helpful and very friendly

Room Tip: The luxury double was super. 2nd floor. No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
You have made our day! Thank you so much for such a magnifique feedback!

Our utmost reward is to hear enchanted guests. We are extremely pleased to have provided you with a service from the heart.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nothing really to fault here - you won't regret the choice. Two minutes walk to Piccadilly.

The only improvement I can suggest is ditching the tiny in room fridges which are wired to automatically detect consumption. Housekeeping gladly cleared it out for me to make room for my things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Nevaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Indeed one of our assets is our location. We are a stone's throw away from the buzzing city centre on the quiet Waterloo Place. We have created a haven of peace where we love to pamper all of our guests.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lets start off with the location - you really can't beat it - the Sofitel is in a great spot for shopping, nightlife, eating out and the main London tourist sights.

I arrived very early after a long international journey (+24hours) and ended up paing GBP90 to upgrade to a "Lucury room" - I understand rooms aren;t always ready early in the morning but most hotels would upgrade you or offer a discounted rate - was quite disappointed with that.

Size of the luxury room was still fairly small however it's a great room with very comfortable bed and very quiet.

The bar had a great selection of drinks and really nice snack food.

The staff were all very friendly.

Would stay again due to location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to tell us about the overall enjoyable experience you have had at Sofitel London St James.

Our check-in time is at 03:00PM. We try and accommodate our early guests into their rooms however this gesture of goodwill is obviously based upon availability.

I thank you for pointing out the very friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#55 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing