We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel London St James
Nearby Hotels
$336
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
$605
$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$376
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$317
$256
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,367)
Filter reviews
4,367 results
Traveler rating
3,528
636
129
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,528
636
129
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiccadilly circuspall mallrose loungehermes toiletriesluxury roombuckingham palacenational galleryjames parkregent streetroom servicebeautiful hotelperfect locationturn down serviceafternoon teawest endrain showerfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,829 - 1,834 of 4,367 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having stayed several times at the Sofitel , Terminal 5 Heathrrow, we thought we would book this hotel for a celebratory weekend.

On arrival at 2.40pm our room was not ready. we were told that availability starts at 3.00pm. Still not ready. After prompting the recepionist we were given complimentary tea.

The location has to be one of the best in Central London - no need for taxis- it is possible to walk to most places in Cental London from here. Trafalgar Square is round the corner, The Mall and the beautiful St James' Park a stone's throw away., while The Haymarket , with theatres , cinema and restaurants are also close at hand. A walk up Regent Street brings you to Piccadilly and the shopping district plus the exhibitions in the Royal Accademy.Despite its fantastic location, the hotel is set back from the main traffic areas and looKs out onto the fine buildings of the Atheaneum Club and Carlton Gardens.
The hotel has a quiet ambience and the bedrooms are well equipped, with superbly comfortable beds.We opted for bed and breakfast,. The dining room is very attractive,with large windows, and retains the character of the old banking hall it once was. We were somewhat disappointed with the breakfast buffet. As this is a French owned hotel the croissants etc were good, but the bacon in a casserole dish was uncooked and greasy. Better to stick to continental breakfast ,or order food from the waiter, or go out and get something if you are not on an expense account!
All in all, we had a very pleasant stay.
.
.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank C534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Indeed one of our assets is our central location really close to all London attractions. We are centrally located however a bit aside on the quiet Waterloo Place.

I am glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable time at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sofitel is my hotel of choice when on business in London. From the attentiveness of the reception staff to the comfort of the rooms together with its perfect location makes it an obvious choice for me.

As soon as you say your name they welcome you back. There is always a note on the table. The room is always perfectly presented.

When I have come as a guest on a trip for pleasure, to the theatre or dinner, the welcome is always the same - perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are truly happy to hear that you will keep coming over to Sofitel London St James when travelling to this magnificent city.

We look forward to welcoming you with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Very near theatres, shops and two minutes away from Piccadilly Circus tube station. Friendly helpful staff, immaculately clean and comfortable beds. Great selection for breakfast. Deserves its five star rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you very much for all your compliments regarding our high level of service with friendliness and helpfulness.

I can also tell that Sofitel Luxury Hotels has once again achieved its goal thanks to MyBed. This unique bed system which takes you to sleep like onto flyffy clouds.

The Executive Chef and I were delighted in offering you this great selection of the seasonal freshiest products for breakfast.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We keep coming back here, because of the location, the comfort and the level of service, which on this occasion was outstanding. The refined style and the peaceful ambiance of the Softiel St James suits us perfectly. For a world-class city centre hotel, the quiet elegance of the hotel is remarkable and contrasts hugely with the large, corporate rivals not so far away. A temporary sculpture exhibition crowded the lobby somewhat on this occasion and detracted from the beautiful floral displays and elegant furnishings which set the tone so well.

As noted in previous reviews, the location is superb for both shopping, sightseeing and theatre. All are within five or ten minutes walk through interesting and well populated streets, even late at night. On a fine day, St James Park is a mere step in the other direction - how much more pleasant than having to walk along (or cross) a busy dual carriageway of fast moving traffic!

On this occasion, we very much appreciated the upgrade to a junior suite. Room 336 was comfortable and very spacious, with our preferred walk in shower and all the usual amenities we enjoy. The Sofitel bed is so comfortable and On this occasion, we couldn't stay long - but there's always next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for emphasizing on our "outstanding" standards of service. Indeed we put a lot into delivering such level. And we do it in a genuine way. I can tell that all of our guests notice it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business. The room was a decent size, quiet and well maintained with lots of gadgets - so many that there were little cards dotted round the room to tell me how to do things which normally are simple. For example setting the bedside alarm was not something you could intuitively guess. I didn't find a card on how to use the minibar and never figured that one out!

The gym is small but with good equipment and empty when I went there.

Breakfast was the only a disappointment. Lots of choice with staff willing to bring you what you wanted but ridiculously expensive - I guess that's London for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I am pleased to hear that you have had a most enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James.

Regarding our breakfast rate kindly be informed that we are aligned to other 5 star hotels in the West End.

We look forward to your next stay.

A bientôt,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews