We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great 5* hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Very near theatres, shops and two minutes away from Piccadilly Circus tube station. Friendly helpful staff, immaculately clean and comfortable beds. Great selection for breakfast. Deserves its five star rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for all your compliments regarding our high level of service with friendliness and helpfulness.

I can also tell that Sofitel Luxury Hotels has once again achieved its goal thanks to MyBed. This unique bed system which takes you to sleep like onto flyffy clouds.

The Executive Chef and I were delighted in offering you this great selection of the seasonal freshiest products for breakfast.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,175
    601
    122
    45
    23
See reviews for
963
1,698
266
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We keep coming back here, because of the location, the comfort and the level of service, which on this occasion was outstanding. The refined style and the peaceful ambiance of the Softiel St James suits us perfectly. For a world-class city centre hotel, the quiet elegance of the hotel is remarkable and contrasts hugely with the large, corporate rivals not so far away. A temporary sculpture exhibition crowded the lobby somewhat on this occasion and detracted from the beautiful floral displays and elegant furnishings which set the tone so well.

As noted in previous reviews, the location is superb for both shopping, sightseeing and theatre. All are within five or ten minutes walk through interesting and well populated streets, even late at night. On a fine day, St James Park is a mere step in the other direction - how much more pleasant than having to walk along (or cross) a busy dual carriageway of fast moving traffic!

On this occasion, we very much appreciated the upgrade to a junior suite. Room 336 was comfortable and very spacious, with our preferred walk in shower and all the usual amenities we enjoy. The Sofitel bed is so comfortable and On this occasion, we couldn't stay long - but there's always next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for emphasizing on our "outstanding" standards of service. Indeed we put a lot into delivering such level. And we do it in a genuine way. I can tell that all of our guests notice it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business. The room was a decent size, quiet and well maintained with lots of gadgets - so many that there were little cards dotted round the room to tell me how to do things which normally are simple. For example setting the bedside alarm was not something you could intuitively guess. I didn't find a card on how to use the minibar and never figured that one out!

The gym is small but with good equipment and empty when I went there.

Breakfast was the only a disappointment. Lots of choice with staff willing to bring you what you wanted but ridiculously expensive - I guess that's London for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you have had a most enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James.

Regarding our breakfast rate kindly be informed that we are aligned to other 5 star hotels in the West End.

We look forward to your next stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked a room at the Sofitel via Avios for 55,000 points and £85 for two persons for two nights including English Breakfast.

The Hotel is easy enough to reach, via Piccadilly Circus Underground station, then past the Eros Statue and down Regent Street towards Pall Mall – 3 minutes walk to Waterloo Place.

The location is excellent for the Theatres, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace and Westminster.

The Hotel Lobby is well presented, with some very modern sculptures. The receptionist was both delightful & helpful, even providing a refreshing free non-alcoholic drink for us both to enjoy whilst we completed our registration card.

The room was a Superior Double, at the back of the Hotel on the fifth floor and we did not experience any noise problems.

The room was tastefully furnished with plentiful wardrobe & drawer space. There is a free room safe in the wardrobe. The room décor was very modern and there were no problems with the room’s cleanliness.

The bathroom was spotless, with complimentary Hermes toiletries, soft towels, complimentary Dressing Gowns & slippers. There is a bath, with a rain shower, and everything was well maintained and in working order.

The bed was extremely comfortable and no problems with the pillows or the bedding.

There are tea/coffee making facilities stored on a shelf in the wardrobe.

Breakfast was lovely, with a choice of fresh fruit, cereal Continental and English Breakfast - the food could not be faulted. The Waiter service was efficient and courteous.

Overall, we couldn’t fault this Hotel and would highly recommend it.
From the cleanliness of the room, to the Dining service, the Hotel should be proud of their staff, as they make your stay at their establishment extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to TripAdviser surfers.

We are indeed centrally located and hence convenient for both leisure and business trips.

We proud ourselves in offering the freshiest seasonal products in our restaurant The Balcon. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much our breakfast.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I also work in the world of hotel & luxury industry so I can reconize a GREAT hotel when I see one, and Sofitel London St-James was outstanding !

I went to Sofitel London St-James with my dad for a week end of three days. That was the first time I came to London and the situation of the hotel was so PERFECT to make all the visits we had to do!!!
Honnestly, it was a great choice my dad made ! Maybe it was because we were exhausted but we slept sooo well, beds were amazing, and we loved the room's decoration. Food was very nice, but most important the service was excellent. (and I shouldn't say that but some guys from the staff, really handsome ahahah !)
We would like to have a special thanks to the barman we saw every night and was particularly carefull to us! For example, when we came back late from the theatre, he asked us if we had dinner, when we said no, he asked us if we were hungry and yes we were! He asked the night team from the room service to bring us delicious hamburgers and fries directly at the bar, that was so nice ! And they had a cocktail named with a number (maybe 1921?) that was my favorite one!
My only bad point would be the SPA because I like going to pool or to a sauna and they only had a whirl pool, just a bit disapointing. However, the massage was relaxing, they paid attention to everything I said before (they ask you to complete a file to provide you a massage "sur mesure".

If you hesitate to go there, well.. Don't hesitate anymore ! Thank you London St-James !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargauxPrudat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am truly glad to hear that you and your father have had such an enjoyable experience with us at Sofitel London St James.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and we try our utmost to please them so they have magnifque moments at the hotel.

Thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

best hotel in London and in heart of the city
Maybe the best hotel i ever been!!!! I traveled here in the start of January for business with my company and i really loved this place!! Its a bit expensive for me but i am glad i experienced the beauty and comfort of this hotel!! The rooms and the service are beyond any expectation!! Totally recommended to all!!!the food and service is amazing, the room was very well equipped and don't miss the spa experience :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amar_aj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
What a joy to read your positive feedback!. Thank you for that.

We are extremely pleased to be your "best hotel in London".

We genuinely love to indulge our guests and to exceed their expectations in terms of standards of service. I am truly glad to hear that we have reached our aim.

Thank you also for pointing out the great food served at our restaurant The Balcon.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sofitel London St James and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location and the staff were as helpful and friendly as we remembered. The rooms are very nice and have all the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The bed and pillows deserve a special mention as they are really comfortable and you will be sure of a great night’s sleep. We would highly recommend this hotel and will hopefully be returning soon ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_T543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I thank you for such positive a feedback. It really served as an encouragement to the whole team to keep on providing high standards of service in a genuine way.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,151 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,720 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#41 of 1,068 in London
1,232 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,068 in London
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing