We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“No privacy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No privacy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

When I stay at a hotel I never ask for room cleaning and towel change. It's because I don't want to be disturbed and I do not want to make unnecessary wastes using new towels day by day.
I always use the "do not disturb" tag on my door, so I have used it here at Sofitel as well.
Returning after a long day from the city, I realized that somebody was in my room and all the towels were changed. I was very upset, but I didn't make complaint than cause I had no time and energy for it.
The day after when I left my room I heard that somebody (I guess the manager of the housekeepers, who seemed to be Russian or something Eastern-European) was shouting to a housekeeper lady who denied to enter a room which was signed with "do not disturb" tag.
That was the time when I understood that the "obtrusion" to my room was not the decision of the housekeeper but this is the policy of this hotel!
This is shame!
I pay for a 5* hotel cause I would like to got what I WANT not what the manager thinks! That's why I use the tag on my door.
But it seems nobody cares about it at this hotel!
It was the last time I stayed at a Sofitel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Danco9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am truly sorry to hear about this incident. Allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Sometimes guests press this "Do Not Disturb" button without noticing it however please rest assured that I will liaise with the Executive Housekeeper about this issue in order to avoid any future occurence.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

With my best regards,

Denis Dupart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,899
    566
    116
    42
    21
See reviews for
856
1,580
253
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love Sofitels . They always seem to be these elegant , refined , quiet oases in frantic city centres. St James Sofitel is a fine example . Great situation down from Piccadilly where you can park and unload outside without the fear of being towed away immediately . The hotel looks after the parking. Easy walikng to the west end.

Elegant rooms , nothing to disturb ones peace all over the hotel . Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Our first aim was to make a haven of peace for our guests and I am glad to hear that you have perfectly felt this atmosphere at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for recommending the hotel to TripAdvisor surfers.

We then look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location for exploring London's West End. Very attentive staff. Room was a little smaller than expected and lacked any view but very comfortable. Accor benefits provided included free internet and late checkout.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Indeed we are centrally located however on the quiet Waterloo Place which is very convenient after a hectic day in the busy London.

I thank you for pointing out our very attentive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have generally found London hotels overpriced and disappointing. The Sofitel was terrific from the moment we arrived - the reception was extremely courteous and efficient, without being pretentious. Our room was lovely, had every comfort you needed and above all, was fantastically quiet - even though the surrounding rooms were occupied, you couldn't hear a sound from anywhere. This was ideal for us, as we are a bit noise sensitive to say the least. The hotel also went the extra mile - my visit was primarily to celebrate my birthday and when I arrived back at the hotel from afternoon shopping, there was a beautiful birthday cake and a red rose awaiting me in my room. This was a lovely, unexpected surprise and solely down the staff on reception picking up that it was my birthday when we were chatting about evening plans when we checked in at reception. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and it will definitely be my first choice next time I stay in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suffolkwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We were delighted to pleasantly surprise you with a birthday cake. We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests. We cannot help it.

Our central location is also one of our assets.

We then look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I requested, or thought I did, a twin bed, when I cliqued " twin bed" at reservation time. On arrival I made reception aware of my mistake and asked to kindly redress it. They did not say no but it came at a price: 50 extra £ per night. Now I know the hotel was not crowded and, in addition, initial fare was not a. So, a little gesture woul have made me a more faithful client. The stinginess did not reflect the environing Christmas spirit. Otherwise everything was top rate, especially personnel who are courteous and friendly.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am truly glad to hear that we have met your expectations in terms of high standards of service which has enhanced so much your stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing