We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfectly executed luxury, with a French flair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfectly executed luxury, with a French flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just back from three days at this discrete, stylish hotel. I booked because of the reviews and my stays at other Sofitels in Washington and New York; this one is clearly the best. In net, the experience was wholly satisfying on all fronts: luxurious, professional, yet filled with warm human touches ... a delightful splurge that I’d happily repeat at any time.

PROS:

Peaceful central location, very near (but not in) Trafalgar and Picadilly, within easy walking range of galleries, the Eye, theater district and Covent Garden, shopping; courteous, efficient, friendly staff delivering the highest level of service throughout the hotel, notably at the concierge position; spotless, tasteful, quiet rooms, with heavenly beds and linens (and, I couldn't help noticing, Hermes toiletries); large, delicious breakfasts at the hotel's Balcon restaurant, which is highly Zagat-rated in its own right; a cozy bar with relatively reasonable drink prices and informal eating options; a very well-equipped gym. The hotel is to be commended for providing free Internet access that is perfectly adequate for web browsing and Skype, etc, as all hotels at this level should (but rarely do).

CONS:

Essentially none. It’s London, so (1) the rooms are a bit compact and (2) not inexpensive; but Sofitel delivers corresponding value. There wasn’t much of a view through my specific window.

TIPS:

My rate included breakfast, which was much cheaper than daily purchase. Many flights from North America land early in the morning, as did mine. The front desk staff was kind enough to find me a room on arrival at 11:00 AM, to my vast relief as I wasn’t sure I’d still have been awake at the usual check-in time. (Other hotels are known to try to force the exhausted traveller to purchase another full day for the same thing.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aorrdalca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for so much praise in your magnifique feedback. Indeed we try our utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations.

I thank you also for pointing out our highest standards of service throughout the hotel.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A très bientôt.

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,899
    566
    116
    42
    21
See reviews for
856
1,580
253
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family and I spent a week at this lovely hotel and liked it very much. With 14 people, half of whom were young kids, service and warmth were important. Led by an " all world " concierge desk, the service was impeccable. Nice rooms, lobby, bar, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a good window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and children are also our guests. We do our utmost to have our guests experience magnifique moments at Sofitel London St James. I am truly pleased to hear that we have achieved our aim.

I thank you for especially mentioning the very knowledgeable service provided by our Concierge members. Indeed they are a true asset to the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very good service, obliging staff and a killer location make this an excellent choice for the business traveller to London. Rooms are a little on the small side but the hotel is well run & has nice touches like the Espresso machines in each room. Internet though is a bit of a disaster , with patchy availability and poor speeds for the Free version. Faster speeds will cost £15/day which is pretty outrageous in this day & age.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the inner courtyard in which case you'll look onto office spaces with very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am extremely pleased to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed we do our utmost to have our guests have a magnifique experience.

Regarding Internet, our free version is enough to check your e-mails and to browse websites however you would have to upgrade if you wish to download movies.

I look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Definately an above average hotel as it has all you need in a fast moving city. Good hotel for business but also for pleasure had a great location would come back soon again.
Was certainly an expensive for the class it is in, but could find deals available on the net after a few searches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for pointing out that we are suitable for both leisure and business purposes stays. We are indeed centrally located and guests are pleased to enter into our haen of peace after a long day.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights last month having checked it out a year ago. My previous stay in London was at the Corinthia - if budget is not a concern Cornithia is definitely better, but price there has gone up a lot since summer 2011 - understandable after a year with really good reviews. Sofitel is one notch lower in room quality etc, but for value is still very good.

My room was comfortable and decent size for London -around 27-28 metres. Overlooked an office building, so not exactly one for views, but it meant it was very quiet. Rooms are quite elegant but neutral enough that it should be ok for most tastes. Breakfast was very good - excellent Eggs Benedict - and that is comparing to Cornithia, One Aldwych, and Connaught.

the suites have been recently done up and are very good.

I also had dinner in the Brasserie one evening which was also very good.

Front desk and concierge service was very good.

Location - good for the city as you avoid the Piccadilly traffic and still good for theatres and shops.

Overall, a good, reliable choice - suitable for holidayers and business people which do not find hotels further west convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am thankful to you for this review full of praise about Sofitel London St James.

I am pleased to hear that we have met your expectations in terms of services all over the hotel being at Front Desk, Concierge, or at our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and initially having baulked at the price of the room, I soon realised that it was worth it. We paid 365 pounds including breakfast for one night. The location is very central, a short walk to Trafalgar square and Buckingham Palace, Pall Mall.
The room was quite spacious for a London hotel but amazingly clean both the room and bathroom. The bed was really comfortable with beautiful sheets.
We had drinks in the bar and was looked after really well by the bar staff, the atmosphere very spacious but intimate too.
Breakfast in the morning was a nice affair with a good selection either buffet style or A la carte.
Staff were very friendly all the way through and made us feel like we could have been somewhere in France!
Would definitely go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Indeed our central location is quite an asset. Both our leisure and business guests enjoy it.

I am glad to hear that we know how to look after our guests as we strive to provide the highest standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and not only for a special occasion.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#25 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing