We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel, very central, recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, very central, recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at midday, and had to leave the bags as the room wasn't ready. So we wandered off for lunch and when we returned bags were in the room. Room was nice, linen high quality, shower excellent - beware if the shower door pops open you can flood the bathroom very easily, room and bathroom were spotless and finished to a high standard. I have no hesitation in recommending the Sofitel St James as a place to stay. The only issue was the price of food and drink - breakfast was £30 each, we only made that mistake once - it's a fiver for the same food at all the cafes and greasy spoons nearby. Bar prices are similarly inflated - we had one and went out - more fun and cheaper. But that's all niggles - it's a lovely place with attentive and professional staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James. Indeed the best advertisement is always made by world of mouth.

I felt proud of my whole team as you have pointed out an attentive staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,899
    565
    116
    42
    21
See reviews for
856
1,580
253
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is worth every penny. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff friendly and helpful in the most professional sense. The location could not be better for shows and plays, movies, restaurants and other nightlife activities. A special place to stay combining warmth and elegance that make for a truly memorable vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeauGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It is so nice to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you so much for that!

I always feel proud of my team when I hear that guests were satisfied with our friendliness and helpfulness.

Hope to have you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Superb hotel. Beautiful interiors, best location, brilliant staff, couldn't be better. Very expensive, but actually well worth the extra. Had dinner one night, absolutely gorgeous (£200 for 3!). Treat yourself to what has to be one of the best hotels in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Obi0364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I thank you for pointing out our outstanding standards of service as well as our beautiful design. To manage to enchant all of our guests is our utmost reward.

Your feedback is an enormous encouragement to the whole team to keep on genuinely providing high levels of service.

A très bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel while London while on vacation. The staff were fantastic, location was in a prime area, few minutes walk from Piccidilly Circus and Trafalgar Square. The concierge also helped with some great ideas for dinner a few nights, and booked us at two great resturants. The entire staff were friendly and so accomodating, especially Sally-Ann at the front desk, concierge, and the bar staff. As crazy as this sounds...the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. This is what all hotels should rival to. We will definately be back and that's a promise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
The whole team and I were truly joyful to read your feedback and we all thank you for that.

Our main daily aim is to enchante our guests and to positively surprise them. I am really glad to hear that we have provided you with a fantastic level of service.

I thank you for specifically mentioning Sally-Ann as well as the Concierge and the St James Bar teams as we all strive for excellent standards of service.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while in London for business and we also did some sight seeing. The staff here is fantastic, the location is excellent and the property is first rate. I'd highly recommend staying here. Every request we made was taken care of very quickly. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was great and were always friendly and made us feel at home. The bar staff was excellent too. The rooms were excellent and well appointed. The hotel is about two blocks from Piccadilly Circus and the Underground station there. Then your only about a block from The Mall and St. James Park. We walked to Buckingham Palace, about 10 blocks or so. You can also walk south to about that same distance to Big Ben. There's a fun English Pub about a block and half north called Captain's Cabin thats a little off the tourist map and you can meet some locals there. We've been blessed to stay at many wonderful hotels over the years and this one is right up at the top of the list. If we ever come back to London we will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which seemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 87Twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I thank you very very much for this fabulous feedback! You made my day.

It is a joy for us all at Sofitel London St James to provide high standards of service. We genuinely look after our "guests". We aim to have them feel like at home and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our goal.

Please come back to London. We very much look forward to your next visit.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

It has been our third stay at the Sofitel Saint James this November. We enjoyed it as much as the two previous ones.
Very friendly staff, nice and very clean rooms and bathrooms. Good breakfast. The hotel kids friendly. Walking distance from the cinemas and theatres.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Indeed every guest is special and important to us whatever his/her age. We love to look after you all.

I thank you for pointing out your satisfaction regarding your "perfect" experience at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your 4th stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Highly recommend the Rose Lounge at The St James Hotel fabulous. Took my friend there for afternoon tea. Been to many hotels for this & I would rate this one very highly a wonderful afternoon spent. The champange cocktails were the best I have tasted. Service was wonderful will be going back to this one. The lounge it was was very comfortable and a harpist played which was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I thank you for mentioning the very special atmosphere we have created for the Afternoon Tea at The Rose Lounge. Indeed you enter a haven of peace on the sound of a harmonious harp.

All is made out to make you feel like carried away in victorian times through our rose bubble.

We look forward to welcoming you back as well as your friends.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#26 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#49 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#42 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon" , an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing