We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Out of all hotels that I have stayed at in London Sofitel is the one I like the best. Good value for money. It is not cheap but it is London that we talk about thus location, size of rooms, service makes good price value combination. Staff was super friendly and helpful with making restaurant bookings, etc. The breakfast in the Balcon restaurant was good yet on the slow side since I went for a la carte option and it took good 25 minutes to get the English Breakfast ready. Did I mention location - the Picadilly is just around the corner and some of the big name sites, like, the Buckingham Palace are in a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments our wonderful central location.
I am pleased to hear that you felt that the hotel was good value for money.
I pleased that you also enjoyed your breakfast in The Balcon, I sorry however if your felt it took too long, I will certainly pass your feedback onto the Restaurant Manager.
Thank you also for commenting on the friendliness and helpfulness of the team.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,072)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,905 of 4,072 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

I spent the week in London on business before being joined by family (wife and 3 daughters, 13, 10 and 10) for the weekend. The transition from an efficient, stylish business hotel into a family friendly treat was seemless. Special mention to the friendliness of the staff, particularly breakfast in the Balcon restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that the team fulfilled your expectation both as a business and leisure traveler.

Thank you for the special mention on the team, I will certainly pass this on.

Kind regards

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

As I write this I am lying in my comfy bed here at the Sofitel St. James after a long day of touring around London. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience this stay has been! First of all I booked on Hotwire and was so excited to have booked with a Sofitel! It was not cheap but far less had we booked directly. The rooms are wonderful with lots of special touches. Too many to mention!
My favorite meal was just spent at the hotels restaurant "The Falon". We had the price fix menu and everything was amazing. The hotel staff from beginning to end were so nice and accommodating.
The hotel is in the middle of everything and getting from one place to another is so easy. Just ask the hotel staff and they will be happy to help and loan you a good umbrella too!!!!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank corny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your impression so quickly.
I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with your choice of hotel, and that the team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Marche Menu in The Balcon.

I am sorry however that the weather was on the rainy side, but I am sure that this made you appreciate our central London location even more.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Unpretentious afternoon tea in a cosy quiet room with the harp playing in the background. None of the cakes or sandwiches were stunning but everything was nicely presented, the best bit was the lychee rose champagne cocktail which was delicious! Service was attentive albeit slow. We had a nice time but I wouldn't go again. The hotel itself is beautiful though and you are made to feel welcome. Nice for a girls day out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here in April this is my second stay at this hotel, when you go back you always worry will it be as good as the first time. From the first moment I stepped out of the taxis help was at hand checked in with no problem and shown right up to the lift
The room was just perfect everything that you need for a short stay the bathroom shower rainfall head made me late for a dinner date you don't want to get out Last time i stayed the bar and restaurant were been improved now they are open again the wait was well worth it a very nice place to have pre dinner drink or a nightcap.
Had breakfast in the restaurant which was a great way to start a long day in London, in the bar and the restaurant the wonderful service carried on nothing was to much trouble for the staff
When I return to London this is where I will be staying thank you for wonderful hotel experience


Stayed: April 2012
Thank Bedsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted that you have been able to appreciate the work that has been carried out on the St James Bar and The Balcon, since your last visit.
I am glad that the new restaurant and bar were complimented by the wonderful service of team and that nothing was too much trouble.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Location is central to everything you would want in London. Walking distance to theaters, Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, and Westminster Abbey. Rooms are very nice, and go to the Hotel Restaurant, you will enjoy good food. will certainly book this hotel again. The service was excellent throughout my 3 days stay.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room, the are little bit bigger.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

I am delighted to hear that you will be joining us for a next visit.
Thank you for your feedback on our wonderful location and our rooms.
I am pleased that you were able to try out our restaurant and that you were able to enjoy some great dishes.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohannaChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
813 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,072 in London
3,864 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,072 in London
2,545 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#47 of 1,072 in London
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $381 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing