We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Ranked #24 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Unpretentious afternoon tea in a cosy quiet room with the harp playing in the background. None of the cakes or sandwiches were stunning but everything was nicely presented, the best bit was the lychee rose champagne cocktail which was delicious! Service was attentive albeit slow. We had a nice time but I wouldn't go again. The hotel itself is beautiful though and you are made to feel welcome. Nice for a girls day out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,171
    600
    122
    45
    23
See reviews for
961
1,697
266
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in April this is my second stay at this hotel, when you go back you always worry will it be as good as the first time. From the first moment I stepped out of the taxis help was at hand checked in with no problem and shown right up to the lift
The room was just perfect everything that you need for a short stay the bathroom shower rainfall head made me late for a dinner date you don't want to get out Last time i stayed the bar and restaurant were been improved now they are open again the wait was well worth it a very nice place to have pre dinner drink or a nightcap.
Had breakfast in the restaurant which was a great way to start a long day in London, in the bar and the restaurant the wonderful service carried on nothing was to much trouble for the staff
When I return to London this is where I will be staying thank you for wonderful hotel experience


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bedsy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted that you have been able to appreciate the work that has been carried out on the St James Bar and The Balcon, since your last visit.
I am glad that the new restaurant and bar were complimented by the wonderful service of team and that nothing was too much trouble.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Location is central to everything you would want in London. Walking distance to theaters, Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, and Westminster Abbey. Rooms are very nice, and go to the Hotel Restaurant, you will enjoy good food. will certainly book this hotel again. The service was excellent throughout my 3 days stay.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room, the are little bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you will be joining us for a next visit.
Thank you for your feedback on our wonderful location and our rooms.
I am pleased that you were able to try out our restaurant and that you were able to enjoy some great dishes.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wow. Wonderful experience at the Sofitel. Beautiful room, comfortable and impeccably spotless. Everyone was extremely courteous and helpful - from the Concierge to housekeeping, we were greeted with a friendly, warm smile everywhere we went. Not inexpensive, even with Expedia, but worth every penny. Location is central to everything you would want in London. Within walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Westminster and Westminster Abbey, London Eye, theaters, Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square - you get the idea. Close to the Picadilly tube line and wonderful restaurants as well. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marially
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for recommending the hotel,
I am delighted that your stay in London was such a success and that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the courtesy and helpfulness of the whole team. I will make sure to pass them the feedback.
Sofitel London St James, is ideally located, I am pleased that this complimented your stay.

Kind regards

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I passed 3 days in London at Sofitel St. James and was 3 very amazing days.
All the staff was very very kindly,the room very beautifull and very clean and relaxing.
I suuggest this hotel at everyone

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni52Como
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We all looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in Sofitel St James for a few days back in February and will certainly book this hotel again. The service was excellent throughout this great experience, from Front Office to housekeepimg, etc.. I would like to emphasize my review on the F&B experience especially on the lobby bar. The manager is a true professional, full of energy, proud of his work and very competent. Him and his team contributed to make our stay memorable. The ambiance (lights, music, crowd) and the quality of the service make this place one of the best hotel bars in the world. The adjacent Brasserie has an interesting selection of Charcuterie with another great proud professional young man taking care of your order A la minute.
A great hotel. It is a common thing to say that if things don't work is because the management is dysfonctional. Well, things work and work well at the Sofitel London St James. staff is obviously being extremely well recruited, trained and managed.
A wonderful experience all together. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding the service received in the St James Bar. The Bar Manager and the Charcutier are very pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your experiences.
Recruiting and training is at the centre of our business, thank you for acknowledging this and the team. All team members are encouraged to ensure that our guests leave with wonderful experiences of their time spent at Sofitel London St James.

Kind regards

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,013 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#42 of 1,068 in London
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Property: Sofitel London St James
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#13 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#24 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing