We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airways Hotel Victoria London
Ranked #44 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Airways Hotel in Victoria during midweek in May 2013 and were very disappointed. Visiting due to a special occasion at the Palace, we found this hotel and thought it would be a clean, cheap place to spend our time in the city. Not expecting 5* accommodation, just somewhere comfortable. However, apart from a comfy bed, there is no much going for this hotel and in our opinion, vast improvement is needed.
We checked in at 9.30pm after arriving on the train. Greeted by a quite stern man on reception, definitely not service with a smile. We had booked a double room, but were given a 'family' room on the first floor. In other words, 4 beds crammed into the room with no space to walk around. Fine for a stag do - but not for a couple who had booked a double room. Things turned from bad to worse when opening the curtains. Directly outside our window was scaffolding, holding two old coffee cups and a bucket. One of the panels of glass in the window was boarded up also. The 'complimentary' refreshments remained untouched as were not particularly appealing. We spent an hour watching TV although this was hanging off the wall! In the shower room, the toilet had not been properly cleaned which was disgusting. The shower was ok, however the sink clearly needs unblocking and the water barely runs down. Whilst on hygiene, some of the towels and bed covers don't need washing, they need throwing out (various interesting stains). To be fair, the chamber maid staff were very pleasant. She greeted us on our return to our room and was the first member if staff I had seen smile since we arrived. Breakfast in the morning was abysmal, two stale croissants and coffee out of a machine sat in a depressing canteen style room. To conclude, sadly, we booked two nights and only stayed one. We learnt that if you want a cheap place to stay, don't stay here and it is worth paying an extra few quid a night to stay at a Premier Inn or something.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The person at the front desk treated me like dirt, I was on the third floor and there was no elevator (not good for suitcases) and there was a strange clawing sound in my bathroom. It was clean enough but the overall vibe was terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stelladonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to read you did not have a pleasurable stay at the Airways Hotel.
It aways concerns me to read complaints about the level of service as we pride ourselves on having a high quality of service and accommodation at cheap prices.
I have looked into the matter however as I do not have a record of any complaint being made at Reception I can not take this any further. I may have been able to change your room or offer an apology from the member of staff you felt was not polite to you had you let us know at Reception. Please note we do not advertise that we have a lift and always advise guests to request a room on a lower floor if needed.
Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Bugs all over the room, terrible smell and grouchy staff. Need I say more? Definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The nearest tube station is Victoria which is 15 minutes away. It is way too expensive for the value it offers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyUgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to read that you found your stay at the Airways Hotel awful.
I am very concerned about your complaint regarding bugs in the room. We do not take this issue lightly and I am very surprised that you did not report this problem to Reception. As I do not have a record of this complaint at Reception nor have had any other complaints of bugs in any room I can not take this matter any further. Had you informed us at Reception about your concerns we may have been able to look into the matter further.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night. My room was on the 4th floor and there was no lift. Not great with lots of luggage. However, the staff were friendly, the room was very small but good enough for one person. Also, really good location. Its not a luxury hotel but it is good value and the bed was very comfy!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthEnglandTravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valued review.
I am proud to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Airways Hotel.
I know you had a choice of accommodation in London and thank you for choosing to stay at the Airways Hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carlotta M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Two night stay. 5-10 minutes from Victoria coach station and Victoria train station. The Hotel was perfectly adequate for a sightseeing base for London. Buckingham Palace will take a 20 minute walk. The room was small but very clean. Bed good and comfy. Small LCD TV. Small Hair dryer. Tea making facilties were avaliable in the room. We had a front room on the first floor. The single glazed windows did not offer much sound proofing. The traffic noise at night is noticeable. Breakfast was self serve in a small room in the basement. Toast, ceral, croissants, fruit cocktail, fruit juice, hot drinks machine. Opportunity to leave luggage if required. Don't expect the Ritz and you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the higher floors away from the front to guarantee a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuckiandKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Airways Hotel Victoria London, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post an honest review of the Airways Hotel.
We aim to offer quality service and accommodation at affordable prices and I am happy to read you generally had a pleasurable stay.
Thank you once again and I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Sanchit Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
Hanover Hotel Victoria
Hanover Hotel Victoria
#297 of 580 in London
1,077 reviews
Pimlico
St George's Inn Victoria
St George's Inn Victoria
#168 of 580 in London
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel Victoria London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel Victoria London

Address: 29-31 St. Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $105 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Hotel Victoria London 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Airways Hotel Victoria London Looking for cheap budget hotels in London? The Airways Hotel may be the answer to your search. We are a family run budget hotels in Central London offering affordable accommodation with quality service.Our en suite rooms are clean and comfortably furnished, and our staff are well trained to ensure they can help you with whatever you may need and are eager to help. Although we are a cheap central London Hotel we have not compromised our quality of service.Our rooms have:Complimentary “Cole & Lewis of London” toiletriesWorld renowned “Hypnos” beds in every room15-22” Flat screen Digital TVTelephoneHairdryerHospitality Tray with tea and coffeeComplimentary Continental breakfastFree Wi-Fi24 hours ReceptionThis bed and breakfast hotel in London is conveniently located in the central area of Victoria. The Airways Hotel is 7-10 minutes walk from Victoria Station, which has links by Underground, Bus, Train and Coach to all parts of London, including tourist sites, and places as far as mainland Europe. Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, London Eye and Harrods are all within 20-30 minutes walk of the Hotel and if you use public transport you are within 40 minutes of all of London’s tourist attractions, including Tower of London, and airports (Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton).This budget hotels in central London is housed in a mid Victorian building in a well conserved residential part of London.The Airways Hotel is the answer for tourist and business travellers looking for a cheap central London hotel in a quiet and safe residential setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airways Hotel Victoria London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Victoria London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing