We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, reasonable price”
Review of Sasa Sushi

Sasa Sushi
Ranked #2,524 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Authentic, reasonable price”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Not a glamorous establishment but food is authentic, fresh and tasty. Service a bit iffy at times with waiting staff not quite on the ball. Really good place to go before going so where else, not a night out in itself. Tipped in cash rather than card following a previous reviewers comments, not particularly well received but ok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great sushis at a decent price!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

For that price range I think sasa sushi is one of the best sushi places I've tried in London.
Very fresh and some original flavours.
We got the food delivered and it arrived right on time after 45 min.

Helpful?
Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite sushi spot in Angel”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We walked into here with low expectations and just hungry since we live in the area. The atmosphere is nothing to write home about but the staff were very cordial and polite. We ate a range of things from gyozas, to sushis, and appetisers such as grilled aubergine and beef tataki. Some of the food was okay such as the beef and the aubergine. However the melting salmon sushi is to die for and we are now regulars of the spot mainly for that dish alone. Crispy tuna roll is also very good.
Very tasty sushi and overall reasonably priced no frills sushi spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best sushi in London so far”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

great sushi and great value. the decoration could be better but the place looks really clean. taste of fresh quality

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrarbatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best sushi I've had in London !”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've been to Sasa Sushi quite a few times, and haven't written a review which is somewhat surprising for me, so am now rectifying that !

Having been here quite a few times as you can imagine, I like the place - I like the place a lot - in fact I LOVE the place ... it's a measure of how much I love the place that I don't spend less than 100 GBP in here every time I visit (2 people) - and that isn't because sushi is expensive - it's because when my friend and I leave - we don't walk out the door - we're so full we waddle out the door !

Not to put too fine a point on it - but everything they do here is good - the only dishes I haven't tried are the noodle ones because I'm not that great a fan - although they are on my to do list at some point .. but their sashimi, nigiri and rolls are out of this world good - so good that I actually took some pictures so you could all see what I meant ! The staff are courteous and deliver their service with grace, speed and accuracy - what more could you want ?

Presentation is immaculate and beautiful as you can see from the pictures, and here's a hot tip - if you order the sweet shrimp, ask the team if they could put the heads into the miso soup (order this too !), as you'll end up with the best miso soup you've ever ordered - I ended up ordering an extra miso soup and poured it into the bowl of shrimp heads as they still had more flavour to give ... absolutely amazing !

The sashimi overall is amazingly fresh and I love it all - the sweet shrimp is great, but the scallops are my favourite and they're astounding - sweet, lovely morsels of seafood goodness just melting on your tongue demanding to be eaten ... it's difficult to know when to stop !

My favourite rolls are the crunchy tuna and jumbo and if you're anything like me you'll have issues trying to only order 2 of each .. luckily there are plenty of other items on their menu that you'll want to give a go, like their crab meat and scallop creations served on the scallop shell which are also out of this world good. For another dish we ordered the black cod tempura and again, I thought it was out of this world good, although my friend didn't agree enjoy the texture of the fish with the tempura batter ...

For dessert my friend and I had the ice cream which comes in different flavours to the norm - but also awesome - my favourite being the sweet chestnut and black sesame, although the green tea is also a lovely palate cleanser.

The one dish I would absolutely love Sasa Sushi do is katsu curry - I'm a definitely aficionado of the katsu curry, and just have this feeling that if they were to ever do one it would end up being the best one on planet Earth ... so if you're reading this Sasa - please put it on the menu !

So - in summary - if you love sushi - should you visit Sasa ? Well - yes - and don't wait either - run ! The only problem that you'll have visiting Sasa is that once you've been, you'll never be able to visit places like Yo Sushi without comparing it against Sasa - and invariably all other places will lose the comparison test ...

In short - don't delay - go today !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenewchosenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasa Sushi also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sasa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing