We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food , Poor Service.”

The Village Kitchen
Ranked #991 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food , Poor Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having lived in the area for ten years I thought it was about time to try The Village Kitchen. The food was ok, but pretty average, nothing special. However the service was very poor, not a smile, nothing. The "staff" preferred to chat among themselves and did not really bother taking care of their table. We almost felt as though we had done something wrong by being there. The place had no atmosphere and was only half decorated. I wont be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    56
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent value in a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Never been to Walthamstow before. Beautiful evening and a gorgeous meal. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The meal was gorgeous, would recommend the mixed starter to anyone, the spring rolls in particular. Had a lovely kir royale on a 2:1 offer to start. The duck confit was fantastic and the house wine. Two cocktails, two courses for two, a bottle of house red and a cheese board between two at around £60. Shame about the "academic" very loud people next to us but not the restaurant's fault! Will come again if I am lucky!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susaneowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I really liike this place. Good quality food, friendly staff and excellent value. Much better - and far less pretentious - than Eat 17 over tho road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Village gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It's a good couple of years since I've eaten at the Village Kitchen. Back then, it could be a bit hit or miss - although more hit than miss. I have to confess to just getting into the habit of eating at a certain restaurant over the road, & we only ended up at the VK as the certain other restaurant was fully booked....well, all I can say is I will certainly return to the Village Kitchen, sooner, rather than later !The menu was varied and all of us were very impressed with the standard of cooking, presentation & service.Indeed I would say the food was actually of a better standard than "over the road" & the menu more interesting and better value, too. Thanks for a lovely evening, Village Kitchen !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyLondon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

NIce atmosphere, good food and lovely service. What more could you want. We take visiting friends and family here or visit if we want a little treat. Keep up the good work. Thank you

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeordieStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Kitchen also viewed

London, England
Walthamstow, Greater London
 
Walthamstow, Greater London
 

Been to The Village Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing