We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to Notting Hill and Kensington high street and park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #643 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, close to Notting Hill and Kensington high street and park”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Walking distance( about 20 min) to Notting Hill, and 10 min from Kensington High Street and park. Friendly and helpful straff, clean rooms, elegant lobby with bar and starbucks coffee.5 min from underground. Small rooms, but quite alright for two persons. About 20 min by tube to Oxford street. Beds a bit hard and small, but pluss for waterboiler and a selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate, and bisquits in the room, and complimentary soft drinks. Also a safe for keeping valuables in room. Comfortable bath robes, complimentary showergel and shampoo. Also a set of airplugs, in case the traffic outside would be a problem for you sleep. Breakfast in room available. Easy access from Gatwick, with train to Victoria stadion,then tube to Earls Court Road. Walk straight ahead after crossing the road.

Room Tip: Based on standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingvild1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Ingvild1973,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

Your comments are much appreciated. We are very pleased to read that you found our location suitable for your needs and our rooms comfortable.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    633
    316
    137
    84
See reviews for
235
610
160
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed in the hotel during a business trip - the first room I got was a bit loud - the ventilation system was clearly heard. After the first sleepless night I would probably be disappointed, but thanks to the extremely nice staff (especially Ms. Justyna – who was extremely helpful), I got a new room very fast and everything was fine!
Word of advice, watch out for rooms on the last floor : )

Room Tip: The nearby hospital has a pretty loud vent system, don't get the rooms on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Piotr J,

Thank you for posting your review.

Your feedback is much appreciated. I will share it with our team and especially Justyna who I am positive will be delighted to read your positive comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Owing to travel, I was a late arrival (10pm) and was greated with the same courtesy and politness as if I had arrived at 2pm.

The reception staff were all polite and helpful and with food beiong served until 10:30pm I even managed to get a bit to eat. Which considering the hour was very pleasent.

The room was a compact double which was pushed into a corner which would have meant someone climbing over the pther had there been 2 people using this room but very clean and well equiped. Flat screen TV, Ironing board etc. all the usual suspects.

For it's location, it was surprisingly quiet.

On the slightly lesser side of things although the bathroom was very nice the shower did seem to lack a little pressure and it felt a little like "running around to get wet" but having stayed in a different hotel for the previous 2 nights where the shower was like a pressure washer (personally I prefer this) I may be biased.

The nearest tube station is Gloucester Road, which on the TFL website carries a warning that there are some steps to contend with. With lifts but no escalators, use with caution. The stairs to street level are very steep and a spiral.

This being said, it was a good night and a pleasent and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear James T99,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have found our hospitality up to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

El personal, molt amables i molt disposats sempre a ajudar. Hi tornaré perquè ells ens han fet sentir realment be en aquest hotel de Londres.

The staff, very friendly and always eager to help. I will return because they have made me feel really good at this London hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Marti0107,

Thank you so much for your great review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do our outmost to ensure our guests experience memorable stays.

I will share your comments with my colleagues who I am positive will be delighted to see that you are happy.

Hope to see you very soon.

Kindest regards,
Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siotraveler
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff was amazing. Rachel and Jekatrina at front desk were very accomadating. Enjoyed the lobby area too. Very clean rooms. Easy walk to Earls Court exhibition hall and Earls Court Underground sstation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear SIO Traveller,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure London Kensington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel. Staff are very friendly and chatty. Rooms are spotless, decorated well and modern. Very relaxed and had all the facilities you need (ie. iron/ironing board, tea,coffee, biscuits, soaps, shower gels, hairdryer, safe) Loved the small touches like complimentary soft drinks that are replenished in the fridge everyday and shower robes in the wardrobe/slippers.

Breakfast was lovely, nice little room with a selection of fresh fruits and hot breakfast all of a high quality. Again staff were fantastic.

Only negative I can think is the room I stayed in had no window to get any fresh air (well as fresh as you get in London!) And the shower was lovely but you can't adjust the head and at 6 foot 2 inches I struggled to get my head under it! But that's just me being picky!

Hotel is in a great location, say a 5 min walk straight down the road to Gloucester Road tube station.

Overall a brilliant hotel, management should be proud.
Defiantly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisjl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Duty Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Chrisjl20,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Some of our rooms, especially the ones facing the main road, have double glazed windows that do not open. We do have however rooms facing the back of the hotel where the windows open. Please inform reception on your next stay that you wish to be allocated in a room where the window opens and should we have the availability they will do so.

Best regards,

Raquel Nogueira
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#637 of 1,069 in London
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#347 of 1,069 in London
2,089 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
#365 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing