We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest room I've ever stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #637 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 2, 2013

When choosing to stay at the Mercure London Kensington I did not have expectations of a large room, but I really did not expect it to be quite as small as it was! Thankfully both of us are quite small but I imagine staying in the small double bed if we were any bigger would have been almost impossible, with a wall against one side making it seem even more enclosed. The room was clearly meant for 1 person even though there were two of us staying, with one dressing gown, and one cup for us both to share, which wasn't great when we wanted a hot drink. The breakfast was average, but some of the items had run out by the time we went down to eat at 9am. The rooms however, though small, were clean and the staff I encountered seemed friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topiwopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. The room that you have described is one of our single rooms and it is meant for sole occupancy.
I do not know the circumstances surrounding your booking and I was not able to identify your reservation in the system either. I would like to ask you to contact me directly at h8064-gm@accor.com so I can get a better understanding of what happened and respond to you appropriately.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. Breakfast superb, room large and clean. Reception services, especially regarding messages could be bit better but overall very friendly and as helpful as can be. Cafe area is convenient, friendly and has good coffee. Very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We were delighted to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for six nights. Booking, check-in were a breeze. Room was perfectly equipped with the necessities. Hotel is situated between Earl's Court and Gloucester tube stations. Earl's Court is closer and they both service District, Circle and Piccadilly lines. The neighborhood has all the essentials: restaurants, pubs, big grocery, post office, etc. It's also a quieter area at night than the hotels more centrally located. It was nice to return after a long day on my feet touring busy London to sit out on the patio and enjoy a Guinness. Purchased the breakfast option with the room and it was one of my best decisions. Great breakfast choices (eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt cereal, fresh fruit) every morning and no need to wander around looking for a cup of coffee and a danish to start your day. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted with your comments!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Bedroom was very very small, otherwise breakfast and service was good. Limited food available in evenings but lots of restaurants nereby. Staff very friendly, everything clean and comfortable.High cost but probably typical for weekend in this area of London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tennison37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted to read the feedback and see that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As mentioned by others the standard rooms here are small, but I had not realised just how small .The bed fills most of the room ,with little space at the end or the sides. The small wardrobe is very well equiped - but as it contains a safe , the tea and coffee , drawers for hairdryer and an ironing board there is no room to hang longer items and no where to put the ironing board in order to make space . No where in the room to put a suitcase other than blocking the door , which is also the best place to plug in the kettle .
Positives though the room was very clean , bed was comfortable , tea/coffee/biscuits/ free water / safe / free wifi( but very slow)
Reception staff were very good and friendly
Bar staff were very friendly (but bar " runs out" of staples - e.g. draught beer or gin . )
Breakfast buffet - cold food was good, hot food is a bit mixed - the eggs are a challenge !
Overall it is a good low cost option in an expensive city BUT only if staying for one night and with a small overnight bag , otherwise look at the "premier room " options or another hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaMBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Our room sizes vary from small doubles to king executive which are very spacious.

I was delighted to read your positive commenta and have taken note of the concerns you raised and I can assure you they will be dealt with.

I hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and you will be inclined to come and try us again.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

An upscale Accor hotel, within a 10 minute walk from Earls Court Tube station, which has access to District and Piccadilly lines. The neighbourhood has numerous pubs and ethnic restaurants. Mine was a prepaid room, but was told they would charge my credit card 25 pounds for "incidentals" and could expect a refund within 4 days if nothing was incurred. This was challenged upon check-out and the new person told me this was not true, they only took an imprint. Apart from this little incident the stay at the hotel was excellent - we were able to print our boarding passes at the complimentary internet café.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Travellerofold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the confusion you experienced on check-in has not inconvenienced your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights in January 2013, room was small but clean and I have nothing to complain about my stay there. Had to leave early in the morning and the girl at the reception ran behind and got me a bit of breakfast which was very nice of her. Good location and good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your positive comments will serve as an encouragement to our staff to continue providing excellent customer service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#345 Business Hotel in London
#361 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $118 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing