We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #519 of 1,064 Hotels in London
PRESTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here on Saturday 16th march ith a friend and we shared a standard double room. The room was clean and modern and in a great location for earls court. Comfortable beds and a nice breakfast. One minutes walk from a sainsburys and 2 mins fom earls court and tube. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANCASHIREJACKSONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you and your friend enjoyed the time spent at our hotel.

Your positive commnents have been shared with the team.

Thank you for taking the time to post the reivew and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    622
    310
    131
    80
See reviews for
226
598
156
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
c
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Everything was fine except the shower where it was impossible to control the water temperature. It was almost boiling hot! The problem was known to the hotel, but not dealt with because they were planning an exchange of all shower batteries in the near future they claimed. Although understandable it does not help guests in need of a shower before that time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank yhnujbgtyuhnjuyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was dissapointed o read of your concerns regarding our showers and would like to offer my apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Your concerns have been raised with our maintenance team who are looking into changing any faulty shower units.
I hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and I would like to invite to try us again. Please email me directly at h8064-gm@accor.com and I will ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived to find friendly staff and a clean and modern hotel but the room are sooooo small it was dreadful. I will not be going back her in a rush! Further more 2 pints of lemondae via room service was £10++++

Room Tip: Not possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was happy to read that our staff friendliness and the cleanliness of the hotel were up to your satisfaction.
With regards to our small doubles, we are aware that they are on the tiny side and we are working at ways to offer more storage space in the rooms.
I wish you would not judge us solely on this experience. We have rooms that vary in sizes and my personal suggestion for future stays would be too book one of our executive or privilege rooms. Please contact me directly at h8064-gm@accor.com prior to your next stay and I will ensure you experiece a more enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I made the mistake when booking on line of dating the start of my one night stay the same day as I booked , instead of dating it for the following day. I booked on the 10th March and meant to say the 11th. On arrival the desk clerk pointed out my error, but said that I would forfeit the £89 I had paid but she could offer me a room with a large double bed at £129. As a concession she would include breakfast, failing to observe that the on line booking included breakfast ! As a public relations exercise it left much to be desired. She could have said that she would only charge me the difference between what I had already paid and the cost of the bigger room. The waiter at breakfast was excellent; he helped me down the steps, as there is no hand rail to steady oneself, and at age 81, my balance is not great.
Overall the standard was good, and the barman was good and courteous. My guess is that because most of the guests are one-nighters, the incentive to put out all the stops at the front desk are not there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank helmsman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear helmsman99,

Thank you for your review.

I was surprised to read your comments regarding our reception team as most of our guests praise them for their hospitality and friendliness.
I was pleased to see that you found our other members of staff helpful.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back again to our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knottingley
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Mercure Kensington on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed with all aspects of the hotel. Especially nice to be recognised and welcomed by one or two of the staff, albeit that many have changed since my last visit.

Was upgraded to a kingsize room on arrival without prompting, and registered whilst there to become an Accor card member.

Tariffs have increased significantly since earlier stays which whilst still benefitting 2 people sharing a room in a central london location , is quite expensive for a solo guest
now retired and receiving state pension.
Perhaps others in my position could be considered ?

As a smoker, the seated area at the front of the hotel and under cover from the overhead canopy is a plus factor.

Overall, the Mercure Kensington is friendly, comfortable, within easy reach of Central London by bus or underground.

Well worth a visit.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank review644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure London Kensington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

due to the reviews we booked a Privalage room. Not that big, but perfectly adequate. The room was clean, but felt a little old. The soft drinks in the mini bar were free, so that was a bonus. room had a safe, flat screen TV, iron, nespresso machine, air con, desk and a very comfy bed.
Room we had overlooked road, so there was some road noise. The bigger noise issues was that outside the room was the linen closet, so the staff outside woke us up. ( about 7.30, so not that early I guess)
There was Free wifi in the hotel, but my iPhone cold not pick up the signal on floor 5.

We only had breakfast in the restaurant, about £12 for a full breakfast. It was self service apart from the toast and coffee, it was very nice and the service very good.

The location was OK, a lit bit away from the middle of london, about a 5min walk from earls court tube station.

Nothing special, fine for the cost, would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMmrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear MrMmrsM,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding your stay and the service you have experienced.

I will share your comments with our team, as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very good all round but standard size room is kind of small. Lovely bed, complimentary soft drinks were a lovely bonue but room size just small after paying extra for standard size room and also toilet a bit cramped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchughxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear mchughxxx,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team.

We have various room types and sizes from Small Doubles to Executive King. My personal suggestion for your future stays is to book one of our Exectuive King rooms as they are on the large side and will provide the space and comfort you are looking for.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#601 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing