We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #637 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from Earls Court station. We were in room 303 which was a compact twin but had everything we needed for a 1 night stay. If I was being picky I could say that it was a little worn & tired in places but it was perfectly clean which is the main thing. The thing that lifts the hotel above merely average is the staff who were universally extremely charming, friendly & helpful. Right from arriving they made us feel really welcome and the whole hotel had a warm and friendly feeling because of this. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in this part of London.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surby_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Surby_Girl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding your stay and the service you have experienced.

I will share your comments with our team, as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is 10 minutes walk from Gloucester Road or Earls Court tube stations. Lobby and reception small and nicely set out.

I booked a single room. The room had a small double bed filling most of the floor space, with a cupboard, large flat screen TV on top of a small writing table. The was an adequate sized fitted bathroom and toilet.

There was only leg room space to pass around the bed to an area where you could put my suit case, wthich stopped me then using the cupboard or desk.

The room were fitted out to get a 3 star rating however the design does not consider the hotel guests needs. If they put in a single bed, removing the double, my room rating would go up two points.

I would go to another hotel, of which there are many near by, if I am in that part of London again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear ZZHC,

Thank you for your tripadvisor contribution. I was disappointed to read of your concerns and would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
As you will find with many other Central London Hotels, the size of the rooms will always be on the smaller side. Our room size vary from small doubles to standard and executives, the latter two being very spacious.
I hope you will not judge us solely on this particular experience. Please contact me directly at h8064-gm@accor.com prior to your next stay so I can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay.
Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotsPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had 3 nights in the Mercure in December. Service was exellent and the rooms are great. We had booked king rooms so our rooms were a great size we were worried they may be very small after reading the reviews but they were perfect.
The best thing about this hotel is the location and helkpful staff.

Room Tip: Get the king rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franknbettyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear franknbettyPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding your stay and the service you have experienced.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Kensington on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryd214
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed in The Mercure Kensington on a recent 5 night business trip. I stayed here a few times back in 2005-2006 and, whilst the name has changed, the hotel is still excellent, with very friendly and attentive staff throughout.

I was on a room only rate and had the continental breakfast just once, which was very nice. I ate twice in the bar area - food was well priced and very tasty.

Some previous reviewers have complained about the small size of the hotel rooms - my room (302) was fine - double bed, ample work area and well proportioned en suite with a near full size bath.

Would I return? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a "small double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feedbacks_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear CiryMarr,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding your stay and the service you have experienced.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Kensington on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here for business in January, as an Accor Le Club Platinum I always use Accor when I travel, and when affordable. Having availed of a reasonable rate on a 'small double room' I had set my expectations accordingly.

Check-In
Painfully slow. When I arrived the receptionist was not present, and nor was the bar (located in the lobby) staffed. After a few long minutes, the receptionist appeared from a room behind the bar and checked me in. The reservation could not be found initially, which mean't I had to power up my laptop to provide the confirmation number. Most frustrating. When this was rectified the process remained slow, and I admit to becoming quite exasperated after such a long wait.

Accommodation
You may have noticed I stated I booked a 'small double room'. My god, this room was small. Although well decorated and with good amenities there was no getting away from just how small the room was, yet unbelievably, despite this, it was impossible to watch TV from the bed. It faces in completely the opposite direction which I have yet to comprehend. That said, the bed was comfortable and sleep quality reasonably good. The room was a little cold overnight however.

Bathroom.
More than adequate in size and with a full sized bath. Shower not that powerful however. I must note the bathroom was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast
Excellent value. The option of a Continental or Full English is provided. The food was fresh, and was complimented by the breakfast hosting team who were very friendly, polite and efficient. A real credit.

Check-Out
Painfully slow again. It transpired that my credit card receipt had been stapled to the WRONG guest card, which could have proved troublesome and questions the attention to detail on checkin. Luckily the correct slips were found quickly but again, check out was unnecessarily slow. For example, we were told that it was not possible to change the address on the invoice (which was necessary as my travelling companion was Swiss), and it took several long moments before it was agreed this could be changed. Polite yes, efficient, no.

My advice is to give this place a try if rates are comparable to other hotels in the area - avoid the smaller rooms though.

Room Tip: Avoid single and small double rooms if you plan to spend any time in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear markvip,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Kensington, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

Your comments regarding your experience on check-in and check-out come as a surprise since most of our guests praise us for the efficient service we offer. Please rest assured that the person in question has been spoken to and we will ensure this will not occur in the future as this is not the type of service we would like to be associated with.

I was pleased to read that there were aspects of your stay that have been up to your satisfaction. I will share your comments with our team as I am confident they will be delighted to hear that.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back Mercure London Kensington and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,
Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#636 of 1,076 in London
1,315 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,076 in London
2,175 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
#366 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $121 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing