We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #488 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you're looking for a London break then the Mercure Kensington is ideal. Its 2 mins walk from Earls Court tube station which is just a couple of stops away from all the major tourist areas.It was my first trip to London so it was tricky to pick where to stay, but I had stayed in the Mercure Hotel in Southampton so I had no reservations in booking this one. We arrived on 26th December and were not sure what to expect, as there was a tube strike on so it was a bit trickier to get around than it would usually be. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30am and took a chance that we could check in early, and that was no problem. The staff were very nice in all areas, the room was small, but we were expecting that, but the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! We had not booked breakfast but we decided to have breakfast in the hotel the following morning and it was excellent, very helpful staff and a great buffet to choose from. The only bad thing I can say is you only get 1 hour wifi free with your stay, I can't see why hotels can't offer free wifi for the duration of your stay, It really bugs me. I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel for a London getaway, just get the larger room if staying longer than a weekend. Kensington is a lovely area and felt very safe to explore, just wear comfy shoes!

Room Tip: If staying longer than a weekend look for a larger room, the small room is tiny but fine for a weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie-os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear maggie-os,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you found our accommodation and hospitality to your satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding your stay and the service you have experienced.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We truly value your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Kensington on many future occasions.

Yours sincerely,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    630
    314
    133
    82
See reviews for
233
608
162
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. The room is extremely small - only enough space to accomodate a double bed and a small bench. There is hardly any space to walk around the bottom of the bed to the other side - literaly have to squeeze our legs to get through. We were pleased to be provided with free 24 hour internet access on the day of arrival. However were very disappointed to learn that this was only for one day! and can't understand why that would be the case. Wonder if it would make any difference if we had made separate bookings for each night?

Location-wise, it is quite convenient being10 mins walk from the Earl's Court undergound station.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear gokeen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is much appreciated.

Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. As with many London hotels some of the bedrooms are unfortunately on the small side and are mostly recommended for shorter trips. For future stays I would like to recommend one of our Privilege rooms. The rooms are very spacious, accommodating a king size bed and include varies luxury amenities.

With regards to the internet connection, I am pleased to announce that we are now offering complimentary 256Kb/day WIFI access to all our guests.

I hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and we will the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a night so we could do the museums. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant but the room was average at best. The extractor fan in the bathroom did not work causing condensation everywhere and the decor is in need of some updating/ tidying up. The location is good - easy walking distance from Earls Court tube, the V&A and Kensington High Street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbysGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear BobbysGirl11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was delighted to read that you were pleased with our service and hospitality. I will be sharing your comments with my team.

Your comments regarding our bedrooms come as a surprise since most of our guests praise us for the neutral decor and modern funishings. However, your feedback is much appreciated as we are always looking at ways to improve our product.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you bacl on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice, both on different occasions and both for business.

The first time I was upgraded and the reception staff (a tall gentleman) was lovely and friendly even though I arrived at around 9pm.

The 2nd time, the reception lady was rude and abrupt, noting immediately that my payment guarantee card had been declined (I should hope so too, as it was a guarantee and strictly not for payment). After I got to my room (admittedly upgraded again, but she explained that it was only because they had "sold out" of the single rooms). I called down to ask where the "Fitness facilities nearby" (as noted on the website) were and what the cost was, to be told "We don't have a gym" and have the phone hung up on me.

Unfortunately, the rudeness of this staff member outshines my previous good stay, so I've rated average as opposed to good as there is a Radisson hotel at a very similar price (and closer to the tube station) on the same road which without fail offers exceptional service, polite and useful staff, and an onsite gym!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lisa W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your second experience and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. This comes as a surprise since most of our guests have praised us for the hospitality we offer. Please rest assured that the appropriate re-training has been put into place.
Unfortunately at the moment we do not have gym facilities in the hotel premises, however we are strongly considering the construction of such facilities.
I hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and we will have the honor of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ok, I will elaborate why the title is what it is. The back story is I needed to stay somewhere during the 2012 London Olympics, majority of the time I was at a Backpacker's in Russel Square, and before I would return home to Australia I thought I'll reward myself with a nice hotel to recharge my batteries, and being an Accors member I would look at one of their branded hotels. So I went to Expedia and looked at the prices, man, they were all expensive in general. I looked at Mercure Kensington, the pictures looked good, and I always trusted the Mercure brand so I booked for 4 nights at $1307 AUD total (yes, you read it right, expensive eh?) I've stayed at a lot of Mercures in Australia and Germany, for much more less than $100 AUD a night, but once I got to the Kensington one I knew straight away it was not the best or even average one I've been to. I was in a single room with a Queen-sized bed, and the room was tiny! The bed itself is good, actually very comfortable to sleep on. But it was so tiny, I struggled to iron my clothes while in there. Lucky I was travelling solo, but even a couple would struggle in there. In my room, I had a view of some other building and offices, so not really holiday-esqe. The building looked like it is part of a bunch of buildings and Mercure has leased out a small area. The location, where credit is due, is close to shops and the tube station. I guess because of the Olympics, the hotel rates were boosted up real high so they could maximise profits. If this hotel was for less than $100 a night, it would've been ok, but for $300 AUD a night, I was kinda expecting 5 star quality there. So yes, I am very dissapointed, especially when I couldn't get any Accor points. Look at the pictures to see how tiny it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Toannguyenaustralia,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Our rooms vary in size from small doubles, the room you were accommodated in, to king size rooms. The size of the rooms is clearly displayed on the website and as with many hotels in London some of the rooms are bound to be on the small side. For future stays I would recommend going for one of our Privilege rooms.
We are based in an excellent location, close to Central London and very handy for both business and holiday orientated customers. Having a city location does not always guarantee the best of views, however our front room facing Cromwell Road are always praised for the view and comfort their offer.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope we will be honored to welcome you back art Mercure London Kensington.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#624 of 1,068 in London
1,278 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,068 in London
2,064 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing