We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trip in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure London Kensington
Ranked #502 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Liege, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice trip in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in London from Friday to Monday in October.
The hotel is situated at 5 minutes from a subway station (Picadilly Line, which cross London) in the nice district of Kensington (near Hyde Park, thz Natural History Museum...)..
The staff was friendly (I want to emphasize that) and the hotel very clean. Good breakfast.
The room was small (but it's usual in London)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-François P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jean-François P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments have been shared with our team and they will serve as an encouragement for them to continue providing excellent service.
We hope to have the honor to welcome you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,
Georgiana Pusnava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    598
    300
    124
    75
See reviews for
206
573
153
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in late October. The hotel is in a great location in Kensington, on a relatively quiet street. It is located a 5 minute walk from Earl's Court metro station which is conveniently located on the Picadilly Line (which goes to Heathrow) and also the District Line. We just took the train to and from the airport, but it would be more difficult to do so with large suitcases. It is also equally close to Gloucester Road station (Picadilly and Circle lines). If you are traveling with luggage, Earl's Court station has an elevator from the Picadilly line.

The area nearby the hotel has a lot of restaurants (mostly Indian and Asian); we tried a few and they were all great.

Aside from the location, the hotel simply isn't designed well. The rooms are incredibly small. We recently stayed at a Mercure in Seoul, and Asia is known for small hotel rooms, but that one was 3-4 times the size of this hotel room. We have stayed in some small rooms before but this was the smallest. We have stayed in a Japanese-brand hotel in Tokyo and that was larger. We have stayed in the smallest room on a cruise ship, and that was larger. Its hard for me to get across how small it really was. You couldn't even get around the bed to walk through the room without having to turn sideways. It seems like if they set the furniture up differently it would have been a bit better. There is a desk with chair and tv, but the tv is positioned so that you can't see it from the bed (or anywhere else in the room really). Frankly, it was hard to have 2 people in the room at the same time. It wasn't just the size, it was also the furniture setup. We stayed in a standard room, so perhaps the more expensive version is significantly larger?

Our window latch was broken so the window stayed partly open the entire time. We weren't too concerned about the safety of it since we on a high floor, but would have been a problem if it had been colder.

The bathroom is also a terrible setup. When you use the toilet, you are basically pressed up against the wall. There is a large bathtub but it is so high up off the ground that it is impossible not to slip getting out of it. The showerhead was not that great. I would have preferred just a shower, no bathtub, and more space around the toilet!!! When we arrived, the fixtures in the tub had rust around them. During our stay, the sink sprung some sort of slow leak and dirty grimy drips dripped out of the pipe below the sink all over the floor.

There is a large safe in the room, big enough to fit a 13inch laptop, which is nice. We didn't try breakfast at the hotel because it was ridiculously priced and you can go anywhere nearby for much much less.

The service at the hotel was fairly good. Some of the staff don't have great English so it causes some confusion if you are asking for something specific. They first charged us in dollars even though we wanted to be charged in pounds (because the exchange rate they give you is terrible) but this caused immense confusion because they didn't really understand very well.

They do give you 1 hour of free wifi, but the system for that is really terrible. The system doesn't kick you off when you have used your hour, it just keeps going and charges you their exorbitant rate, which they don't tell you when they give you the access code. If you use 10 minutes, that uses up your free hour, so you cannot use it multiple times. There is a computer and printer available for use in the business center, so we just used that. There is also a McDonalds and a Pret a Manger right near the train station, both of which have free wi-fi.

We got a really good rate on this hotel (about 1/3 of the posted rate), but even with that, I'm not sure I would stay here again. As time went on in our stay (4 nights), the size of the room got more and more frustrating and the problems got more numerous and annoying.

Tip: No matter where you stay in London, get an oyster card if you are planning on traveling on the tube, because it gives you the cheapest fares and is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Pooresttourists,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay and I would like to offer my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to privilege rooms that are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed. You have booked one of our small double rooms which we mostly recommend for short trips or overnight stays.
Your comments have been taken on board and shared with our team in order to prevent other guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.
I would like to restore your confidence in us and I would like to ask you to personally email me at h8064-gm@accor.com .

Kindest regards,
Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on Friday and Saturday. The hotel isn't too big and impersonal and we felt really well looked after and we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast on both mornings.

Hotel rooms in London are normally small and while this wasn't huge it was a good size and very comfortable.

Overall we had a great stay in a convenient location with very little traffic noise and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Ian C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback has served as an encouragement to our staff that do their outmost to ensure our guests have an excellent stay.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,

Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a trade show at Earl's Court, which was 10 min walk away.

The room was the smallest I've ever been in, but it was clean and tidy with all the usual facilities. Breakfast was good on both mornings and was a simple buffet affair.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AWestacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear AWestacott,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments regarding our cleanliness and breakfast buffet will serve as an encouragement to our staff.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,
Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night on business, hotel was clean throughout although the rooms are fairly small.
At check in (approx. 7pm) Reception area was extremely hot for no apparent reason (it was not a cold evening) luckily my room was a nice temperature.

Very comfy bed and despite being on a busy road there was little traffic noise.
Nice breakfast too.
Would use again and recommend to colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear alicat099,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments will serve as an encouragement to our staff to continue providing excellent service.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Kindest regards,
Georgiana Pusnava
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We did book small room, so it was as expected small. It was ok, clean, functional as long as you don't bring big luggage you're ok. Front desk is courteous and there is only free wifi using their one laptop at the lobby.

Room Tip: My friend got small room but hers had a fridge and was bigger too. So ask for fridge in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ching2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for writing your recent review on our hotel and that you found all our staff courteous. Should you book with us again please do consider booking one of our king bedded rooms which I know you will find more to your liking.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for six nights and certainly will not be spending any more nights there. The hotel is very well located, near the tube, buses and local shops and restaurants. Kensington is a great place to stay, just not at this hotel.

It seems the initial customer service I received there was a sign of the things to come. After a long night's flight, I stepped into the hotel, struggling with a lot of heavy luggage and a male staff member yelled out something quite rude to me. Rather taken aback at this form of 'greeting' from a staff member, I chose to simply ignore it. I don't wish to imply that all members of staff were rude, as most of them were generally friendly, but this particular person was abrupt and generally impatient whenever I or the people I was staying with dealt with him. There were some language barriers with him, but even then, his countenance was not equal to the level of customer service you would expect in this business.

The room was clean, but very tiny, even though I stayed with a group in the 'Quad room'. A staff member commented that we were staying in a very big room. This room caters for four, but an extremely cramped four. We were shocked to discover that there was a trip hazard in the room, as it slants down right in the middle of the room. Even more unbelievable, one of the beds was placed over this slant, so the person in that bed had to sleep with the bed on a strange tilt. The beds were among the most uncomfortable we've ever slept in. Two were like sleeping on hard boards and the other two had the 'spring in sticking into you' specialty. Quite a choice.

Best of all, one of the bed coverings was dirty, and instead of placing a clean one on the bed, the cleaner simply turned it over.

The bathroom was small, but clean. It would have been nice to have a proper flushing toilet though.

The internet was a strange business. There is a card in the room detailing how you can access the internet. It gave the rates and time allowances and seemed perfectly straightforward. That was until we asked our favourite abrupt staff member about it. He had completely different ideas about the internet and got very impatient when we mentioned the card in the room that gave completely different details. Very odd. It turned out that you could log in for free for an hour, but if you used two minutes of it and logged out, that was your hour spent. Sound logic.

Again, great location, but will definitely try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your recent review and we were sorry the hotel and room was not to your liking. We normally only get compliments regarding our staff. But apologise if you felt they were not a friendly as you had expected. We do change our beds very regularly and have checked all the beds in your room after reading your review.
But again please accept our apologies.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#596 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Property: Mercure London Kensington
Address: 1A Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#325 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Family Hotel in London
#348 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing