We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Pizza East Portobello
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizza East Portobello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,334 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went with 3 friends having been told the place served the best pizza- the food was dreadful - pizza was soggy in the middle and the "San Danielle" was the worst I have come across. The starters were average and the Prosecco was served in water glasses which were unclean - the place was exceptionally busy - I would never go again - the only redeeming factor was the service - brilliant waiter -shame he was let down by the below average food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EMS1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    137
    34
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pork belly pizza? Why not.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The pizzas here are good and creative, topped with pulled pork for instance. They are well cooked and some might say over cooked, The crust is the color of well done toast and crunchy rather than chewy. My daughter I and liked our pies and the other dishes they have, like some of the small plates, are also very good. A lively atmosphere is a cool neighborhood make this a place worth seeking out. Good for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Table by the Door!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Although one of our party of four had her back to the door, on a bitterly cold evening, it did not stop us enjoying our meal! Four people = four different pizzas to try! Each one very different and I would not have been disappointed if I'd personally ordered anyone of them. The restaurant was busy, service was good (although the Olives we ordered for the start of our meal didn't arrive till we'd started our pizzas, they didn't seem to mind us turning them away!) Will definitely do a return visit to try some of the other delights on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible food, service and atmosphere GO!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say pizza east has got it nailed. The restaurant is rustic and authentic, the staff are buzzy,friendly and attentive and the food is incredible. What stands out is that quality of the ingredients - they speak for themselves, making the simplest pizzas mouthwateringly delicious. We had a platter to start (pick meats and cheeses from the board to build your own) - the burrata and San Daniele was amazing. We both had pizzas, again perfectly cooked. An absolute must if you are in west (or east - there's one in shoreditch) London. Best night I've had in a long time and can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What is the hype about-burnt pizza and alloof service with a high price point for what u get...”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Dissapointed with hype vs. reality
Got excited by the starter but it ended there (special - bruschetta with burata)
Pizza was burnt
Waiter had to be called whenever we wanted something
Was told we had to be out by 9 when we booked but when we got there there was ample space
Baked cheesecake WAS NOT BAKED!!!
Coffee was good-thank gd(I'm a coffee freak)
Overall SUPER AVERAGE
sad but true-u let me down pizza east-don't bother unless u hav nothing else to do

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza East Portobello also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Pizza East Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing