We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halloween fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drink Shop & Do

Drink Shop & Do
Ranked #2,526 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Drink, Shop & Do is a cafe by day, bar by night with fun things to DO! It's hidden behind a sweet shop in an old Victorian bath house in Kings Cross. We are open all day, every day for cocktails, afternoon tea, shopping, drinking, dancing and fun things to DO.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
832 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Halloween fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for done Halloween celebrations and pumpkin carving! Upon arrival we were told there would be a wait, they couldn't give us any guidance as to the time but they take your contact details and call you. 50 minutes passed without a call so we went back to ask how much longer. We were still a few people down the list but they said they'd seat us as we were there.

We decided to take up the offer of get a Halloween cocktail for a free pumpkin and the cocktail was delicious. Pumpkin carving was a lot of fun, the atmosphere was great, I can't wait to go again!

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    105
    27
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really fun choice for Hen Dos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have now been to two hen dos at Drink Shop Do. Both times we had afternoon tea plus an activity. Both the balloon-bending lady and the fascinator-making lady were great teachers, incredibly patient and able to work well with slightly tipsy and over-excited girls!

Afternoon tea was lovely and plentiful, very much enjoyed by all the girls. Possibly slightly expensive at £28pp but then the fascinator activity was cheaper than we expected so that balanced out in the end. The Bellinis and Mojitos were delicious and not watered down and the music was varied and good fun.

Kirsty was very easy to contact and organise the event with. Greg, our waiter on the day was just charming and so keen to help us time everything perfectly - thanks to both of you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of London's best kept secrets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place comes HIGHLY recommended. We did a stag do here and wanted something a bit different; they delivered.

The place itself is a vibrant and buzzing space located conveniently close to Kings Cross St Pancras (a two/three minute walk). The main space is a high-ceilinged cornucopia of craft pieces, artwork and unique pieces of vintage furniture and furnishings. Before you shelve it into the usual ‘girly crafty’ genre, you realize that the sheer aliveness of the place – combined with it’s terrific menu of cocktails, beers and surprisingly thorough selection of gins - makes it a modern chaps place of choice in Kings Cross. We did two activities; Lego robots and ‘Lionel Ritchie plasticine’. Original and pretty fun activities that made the lot of us feel as if we were back in the primary school playroom – all whilst drinking beer from a teacup. For an alternative stag do, they were a really great alternative to sitting in a pub. To accompany the activities, we had a Mans Afternoon Tea which was, well, pretty manly. Huge, filling sandwiches complete with pork scratchings and a Yorkie bar. Boom.

The staff couldn’t be better; the service is quick and friendly, and they really didn’t care that we were a stag group. Too often venues either opt out of taking in stags or treat them with caution. Not here. We were treated like any other person who was there, which was refreshing.

To wrap it up, we reserved a space at their club which runs from 8pm. The first great thing about this is that the £50 deposit actually goes straight behind the bar and is then yours to use. Then, although my memory is a tad hazy – again thanks to the selection of gin available – the club really gets going and it is a great place to spend the night. Again, great bar staff here and great music and surroundings. I’d definitely come back here for the club alone, but when you combine it with the afternoon tea and the activities, this is surely the place to go for the best alternative stag do in London. Or just for a good night out. Or for a gin. Or…well, you get the picture.

One of London’s best kept secrets. Can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“£9.10 for a pot of tea for 2 and a brownie”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Breaking it down, I was paying £9.10 for two teabags, a pot of hot water and a brownie that probably cost less than 50p to make. I'd appreciate an explanation as to why it cost so much. The venue is unique and fun, but unless they rethink their prices, I won't be visiting again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonOne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful food and unfair pricing marred our experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Came here for a friends birthday afternoon tea. For 28 a head we were given a selection of MISERABLE finger sandwiches, devoid of flavour or filling. Really cheeky. We had to cut each tiny cake into two to share - at £28 a head this is NOT acceptable. I have been to many afternoon teas in the capital and this really is a joke. I've paid not much more to have more generous teas in warmer, more opulent surroundings. I understand the whole kitsch, trendy 'crafty' chic they're trying to work with but that's no excuse for lazy food. I felt we were being scammed the whole time.

Also, we weren't offered any tea selection! No earl grey... nothing.

The Bellini was nice. The staff all have groovy haircuts and live in Dalston. They were OK - friendly enough - but not really hot on service.

You can forgive slightly lax service if the food is decent, but this really was appalling and stingy. We isn't complain at the time as didn't want to have a sour note on a friend's birthday. I guess the manager needs to think about word of mouth, which can spread bad reputations as well as good.

Twee china can only get you so far...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drink Shop & Do also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Drink Shop & Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing