We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream heaven”
Review of Chin Chin Labs

Chin Chin Labs
Ranked #4 of 409 Dessert in London
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
essex/uk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ice cream heaven”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A touch on the expensive side but you are paying for the show. Be a purist and don't have sauces or be greedy and have toppings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    98
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cracking little store, with an innovative bent”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

First time I've visited a store which makes ice cream to order using liquid nitrogen. A cracking little place and definitely worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“smooth and flavoursome ice-cream”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We'd read about chin chin and made a special trip to camden just for the ice cream, which we did not regret. Chin Chin lab is so called because it's got a laboratory feel to it - liquid nitrogen tanks, toppings in beakers, conical flasks and test tubes. The idea is that you watch the experiment magic out some ice cream. This wasn't so magic in that the mix was already made and just needed some more mixing with liquid nitrogen, but it's a busy place, so you can't expect it made from scratch each time. However, because each ice-cream is mixed to order, expect to wait 5-10 minutes (depending on custom). Each ice cream costs £4 and comes with a topping. There were charges for additional toppings. There were four flavours to choose from - chocolate, vanilla, mango brulee and raspberry cone, and a range of toppings. We had the raspberry ice cream with some grilled white chocolate. It was served in a plastic transparent bowl with some chin chin lab paper underneath it. The raspberry ice cream was very smooth and tasted of fresh ripe raspberries. Both my partner and I didn't enjoy the grilled white chocolate - it wasn't bad - it just didn't seem to offer anything more than a change in texture.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recent changes have ruined this fantastic shop”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I live nearby and have enjoyed chin chin labs ice cream several times over the last two years (particularly the donut special!). Consequently when I knew I had two small children visiting for the weekend, I immediately thought of here. But...

1. they have changed the layout of the shop so that the process of making the ice cream is no longer as visible and they also no longer explain the process of making the ice cream step by step to visiting kids.

2. They have left the ice cream at the same price (£3.95), but no longer include a topping and a sauce in the price. Now you have to pick either a topping or a sauce and then pay extra for the other if you still want it.

3. They have removed popping candy as a topping. When I requested it, I was told I could buy a £2 for a tube of it instead.

In fairness, the ice cream is still smooth and delicious, but please bring back popping candy and revert to the previous slightly more reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandjen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make sure you have the ice cream!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a fantastic place! They serve the delicious Monmouth Coffee, Valrhona hot chocolate and different types of tea as well. But their ice cream is the hero. We had the Fizzy Cherry Cola ice cream which is dairy-free and vegan. The ice cream is made to order using liquid nitrogen and you get to choose toppings such as popping candy, green tea brittle and sauces. They serve Valrhona hot chocolate and different types of tea as well. The shop is adored with beakers and test tubes, which adds to that laboratory feel. A must-do! For kids and adults alike.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin Labs also viewed

 

Been to Chin Chin Labs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing