We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware and stay away”

Zorba's Greek Taverna
Ranked #17,043 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Celtic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beware and stay away”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It seemed busy which can be a good sign. Later we discovered the owner tries to move clients to the window seats. We should have looked behind the bar counter and into the kitchen to witness the untidiness but we only saw that as were leaving. The owner flatters to deceive as he largely ignores you once you have ordered. The wine was ok but the food tasted processed and took an hour to be served. Most clients left as soon as possible refusing to pay the service charge and only paying what had been ordered and served; not what was cancelled or never produced. At least we did not experience food poisoning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank discerning_visitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    22
    17
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Zorba rip off”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked hers as the nearest restaurant to our hotel. Owner very friendly on booking and on arrival. However half dead flowers on tables, dirty pictures, and decor. Ushered downstairs to what he said was the party room where we could have a drink and nibbles and then go upstairs. The nibbles consisted of two plates of olives and peppers and we did not see a drink or a menu for an hr. Music pretty rubbish too. In the end we asked could we go upstairs and then sat another half hr before he took our orders. He persuaded us to order extras we didn't want.Wine was in a glass jar and seemed to be watered down. Dirty glasses. Waited ages for food to arrive . Some of it was good, but some terrible. Kleftico turned out to be a dry lamb shank. The whole bill came to £288 including £35 service charge which we did not pay. In hindsight we should have walked out but didn't want to be stuck with nowhere else to go. Owner was dressed in a track suit top and base ball cap. Stopped being friendly once we had ordered and completely ignored us when we left. AWFUL

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good food and service! All food so fresh and prepared to order. My Dad got the sea bass, it was not a piece of fish but the whole fish! I had pork chop, very tasty. Starters/salads, all wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne8290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Only visitor”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having need to eat something around 4 P.M. entered this place. I was alone with chef and got some greek fare. Lamb chop was delicious, however it took some time to prepare it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very authentic, very poor”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Greece a few times and I've found that often the grubbiest resterants can serve the best food. Not this one.

Other reviewers have said it all so don't bank on good food here and I wish I'd checked my app before taking the plunge. I also wish Zorba would read these reviews cos' if he upped his game he'd have a great venue but I suspect he's neither that bothered or that savvy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SiPiC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorba's Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Zorba's Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing