We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zorba's Greek Taverna

Zorba's Greek Taverna
Ranked #17,139 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I would like to tell that this is the worst restaurant i've ever been in my life,,I was a visitor in london and its really sad when You receive this kind of experience..The Owner is a very shrewd person and is out on the street to invite you in..Once inside they take their own time in serving You..I was told that it's Greek food , but didn't match with any of the Greek food I'd experienced earlier..It was utterly disappointing..I didn't ask for a desert but was served with one..Since I was with my family I didn't want to create a scene there..and finally the bill was wrong to make the matter worse..PLEASE AVOID THIS RESTAURANT..It is better to eat a loaf of bread that to have anything from Zorba...

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kailas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    21
    15
    121
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most terrible restaurant we've ever visited”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

On Christmas Day we had a confirmed reservation for Kalamaras Greek Taverna, but it seemed to be closed. So we searched and finally found Zorba's Greek Taverna. The welcome was friendly and that was the only positive. We ordered starters and main course. Only my husband got his soup after an hour. My son ordered Greek sausages, he only got one very little sausage that was burned outside and raw on the inside. We asked the waiter to take it away and said we wanted to cancel the rest of our order and wanted to pay. He said that that wasn't possible because our Souvlaki was already on the grill. After a while he brought us each 9 little pieces of meat on a plate, impossible to cut and not tasty at all. We didn't eat it and decided to go. We asked for the bill and complained about the food and service but the waiter didn't listen and turned his back on us. We had to pay 86 pounds!
While waiting there we saw raw meat on a plate near the ground, it wasn't cooled or covered properly. The cooler near the entrance showed a temperature of 10,8 degree and contained raw fish and meat. Clearly bad hygiene, bad service and a disgrace for all the good (Greek) restaurants in London. We can't believe that this restaurant is still open, because afterwards we found bad critics on the internet since 2007!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Family25122011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not put your feet in to this restaurant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

From outside it looks cosy and nice, but when you get in, the whole place smells mouldy and old. We were going to turn around but wanted to give it a try. One guy (appearantly the owner) came to us wearing dirty jeans,sneakers and a baseball cap and took our order. We were waiting a long time (during this time we heard the chef shouting in the kitchen to the owner) and when the food finally came, it was rubbish. I ordered the most expensive course on the menu and got rediculous piece of meat. Clearly this restaurant is not worth of spending your money as there are plenty of other nice restaurants close by. We wish there will be an hygiene inspection soon, as we don't think the place is healthy.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kiss_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“avoid at all costs !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Was looking for somewhere nice to eat and was persuaded by owner standing outside to visit and we totally regret ever going as food was awful, after waiting ages for it, toilets and restaurant hygiene was also disgusting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank zima a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We tried to go to a well-reviewed restaurant down the street called Halepi. It was full, so we wandered up the street to this restaurant. The owner was outside encouraging people to come in. The food was okay here, but everything else was terrible. It was dirty (especially the bathroom), service was awful, and the owner was rude. Other people were complaining about the wait, and he said "You have to wait extra when you order individual dinners. You should have ordered the family dinner." He argued with us about our bill (we never did receive some of the items we ordered) and we were happy to get out of there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine_V11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorba's Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Zorba's Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing