We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge portions of good food served with a smile”
Review of Steak+ - CLOSED

Steak+
Price range: $16 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge portions of good food served with a smile”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We ordered steaks and got a starter for free. When we ordered a dessert we got a very huge serving. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome from the start.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BjornChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovey food and lovely service”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My brother and I stumbled on this restaurant by accident during Sunday Lunch time. We were both hungry and there didn't seem to be any other restaurants around that were open.

When we got there it was very quiet which put us off entering at first, but the proprietor explained they were a new restaurant and they had only just started opening on a Sunday.

The proprietor was extremely friendly and made us feel special. When the food arrived it was excellent, perfectly cooked, well presented and really tasty. During the meal we were chatting to the proprietor who was extremely friendly. At the end of the meal we saw the Chef and congratulated him on a fantastic meal.

The food was very cheap as well. We had 2 courses for 7 pounds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Excellent Food, Good wine, friendly staff, charming atmosphere and all at an unbelievible cheap price. I think the only people who would dislike this place would be the ones who expect the best of the best but expect to get it for McDonalds prices. The food was perfectly cooked and absolutly delicious!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icemancoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ordinarily, one would have to search out a "Sizzler's" in the US for food of this poor caliber!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We read the reviews and went due to the praise it received. To say the least, we were quite disappointed. The place itself is OK, off the beaten path, small, cute, and homey. Frank Sinatra was singing in the background. Fair start.
Unfortunately, the "free" course before the meal was a sad mixture of salad, potato, beans, and spanikopita. We were not sure what they were trying to do.
The burger was just OK, but kind of dry.
The filet mignon was, according to my wife, "inedible". The sauce was strange and had a bad taste.
My steak looked and tasted like a less than mediocre steak from US Sizzler's Restaurant.
I wonder if the reviewers worked at the place or they've just never had a good steak before.
Anyway, we were dumfounded and will not return.

Helpful?
Thank MarkA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Change of personnel, still good value”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I shall miss the genial, welcoming charm of Steak+'s erstwhile proprietor, who has vanished like a puff of smoke to pastures unknown. He had a splendid, rather eccentric old-world presence. So you don't feel as if you've wandered into the exotic realms of a Lawrence Durrell or Olivia Manning novel any more. Shame. The good news is that the food at Steak+ still represents sound value. The new regime's two-course £7 set lunch was splendid at the second try (the first go suffered from oversalting.) Try the Minute Steak, which was generously sized, and decorated with a competent dijonnais sauce. The decor has been standardised a bit so the furniture is more orthodox and less interesting, but that's a minor detail. This place is still a great place to retreat for a tasty, inexpensive lunch or dinner. Watch that salt though!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongJohnSliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing