We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Art of Xen”

Tsiakkos & Charcoal
Ranked #4,749 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Art of Xen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the outside this is a nondescript place and you could pass by without blinking an eye, but once you enter you are transported into a Greek taverna....this is an eclectic restaurant serving delicious homemade food cooked on a charcoal grill , order the Meze a bargain at £20 per person which includes houmous ,potato salad, beetroot salad, haloumi, greek sausages ,kleftiko, char-grilled fish and a lovely feta salad.Wash it down with a Keo beer.

There is a covered secret garden at the rear and is a lovely place to pass a warm evening

The service is great with the food served in no particular order but the star of the show is the owner Xen backed up by some sensational soul/funk music,

Bring cash as it does not take card's.

I have been eating here for over 6 year's ,it is the one place i will happily visit over and over

Happy Days

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best local restaurant in Maida Vale by a mile!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have been going to Tsiakkos & Charcoal for nearly 6 years now and I love it!!! Xen the owner is an amazing host and always plays cool tunes, always has time for a chat, even when it gets really busy - and it does get very busy. The restaurant itself is small, but quaint and the covered outdoor area is funky and a brilliant place to sit in the summer. We always order and love his potato salad, beetroot salad, homemade hummous, haloumi chargrilled perfectly, lovely spicy greek sausages, kleftiko (to die for - the meat literally falls off the bone). Xen also does great fish dishes and a huge feta laden greek salad. It is a place that can cater for meat lovers and veggie lovers. This a place for foodies and sometimes you can find a celebrity in there somewhere, rubbing shoulders with the black cab drivers that pop in for their supper and lots of locals and families. I am never disappointed by the quality of the food and it is consistency good. Tsiakkos & Charcoal shows up all the other Maida Vale food establishments. It is a lovely area but there are many over- rated, under performing places to eat.Top tip - take cash as he does not an eftpos machine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wake1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place reminds me of being in a taverna in Greece. It's completely inconspicuous from the outside - the windows are boarded up by checked table cloths and when you step in, it looks like a humble casual eatery. Then you get ushered into the back where there's an open backyard with tables and chairs. It's so different from the other 'pretty' restaurants in Maida Vale or London for that matter. The food was simply exceptional though. We had the mezze, which was at a low price of £20, given how much food we got. In the mezze, we got a whole range of starters - the hummus and the tzatziki were chunky and definitely homemade. The Greek salad had generous portions of feta and there was a beetroot and potato dish and halloumi too. Then came 3 portions of main meat dishes, including the kleptiko which was extremely tasty. They also gave us some free samples of dessert. The only gripe I had was that there was a very limited range of drinks. There were very few wine options and only about 2-3 kinds of beer.
If you are looking for a no fuss restaurant with warm service and great food, this is the place for you. I am definitely going back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curiouscanaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Par Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was taken here by my boyfriend and can honestly say it is one of the best meals I have ever had. We had the kleftiiko which can only be described as historic! The convivial atmosphere and bonhomie of the hosts only add to the occasion. Xen is your man where good food is the order of the day....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was lucky enough to get a table here as I had come early on in the evening. The place is like a hidden secret and the owner is very warm and hospitable. The food was excellent with generous portions --- the lamb kleftiko was mouthwateringly tender and beautifully flavoured. The bill doesn't burn a hole in your pocket but the quality of cooking was simply delicious and I will certainly be back. In addition the owner also acts as a DJ from his computer and the music selection is awesomely eclectic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perpetual J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsiakkos & Charcoal also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tsiakkos & Charcoal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing