We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of calm and quirky film in Covent Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Notes

Notes
Ranked #5,247 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A haven of calm and quirky film in Covent Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Find this place around the corner from Balthazar on Russell Street. Fresh, well made sandwiches, soups, baked goods and excellent baristas who get coffee and the brewing of tea. The ode to Jean Dujardin on screen was interesting when I was there. Clips and full movies of the mans work. I assume they periodically change that content. They have jazz on Wednesdays I understand, and a wonderful private dining area downstairs. All in all an inexpensive way to get inventive and fresh food in a simple setting with attentive and interesting staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    90
    45
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great coffee.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just popped in for a coffee but was best coffee I had all weekend. Seemed busy and food looked good. I hate chains such as Starbucks. Use these independants instead

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhn_wgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent aromatic full flavoured coffee. Nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by business colleague. Coffe was excellent. The staff were friendly, approachable and knowledgable (always an advantage).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakes_traveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“hoping for a change ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have visited this cafe a few times, it is always the same disappointment: they serve undrinkable espresso (not strong enough, too watery, almost cold, ...).
It's such a pity ... I like the place - good location, nice atmosphere, good music.

If you are in the Covent Garden area, to drink a good espresso, go to "Caffe' Vergnano 1882" in Charing Cross Road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lormiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited their branch in Covent Garden.
The best coffee I have ever tried, lovely environment, good wines, delicious food and great people.
We had a coffe in the afternoon and liked it so much that decided to stay for dinner.
The atmosphere of the place is really nice and changes from being a coffe shop during the day to a cosy place to relax and have a glass of good wine + very nice food in the evening.
Also, they have a private room that can be hire for parties or meetings.
Great service too.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notes also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Notes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing