We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service a very good b&b!”
Review of The Castle Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castle Bar
Ranked #138 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great service a very good b&b!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent 3 nights there and we had a great experiance! the neighborhood very quiet, and the bar downstairs also, lucky us! near from a Underground station about 10 min. walking. The breakfast included was tasty and 3 options to choose :D. The room and shared bathroom were always clean, and coffe, tea and cookies in the bedroom included every day!

The owners were very kind and nice people and they speak english and spanish. The price really worth it! more than we expected! :D we'd surely!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roel Maritza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
32
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed up the top floor, great sun window in the ceiling, fridge, tea/coffee, cupboard in the room. The staff were outstanding in the hotel, and in the bar/restaurant down stairs. It's a very interesting little place and if you're a single person or couple travelling to London on the cheap and want to stay somewhere near the city this is the place for you! It's not 5 star, but it makes up for it with the home-cooked breakfast you get in the morning. GREAT!

Room Tip: Top floor, room 10 was where I stayed. Can't vouch for the other rooms but this was a nice littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warwickjwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place perfectly did what it promise. Nothing fancy, interior is like a hostel. You have to share a bathroom which is not 100% clean, but clean enough for us. Service is a bit rock & roll and very much depending on who is welcoming you. I feel there is no std in place, but also fine for us. I could give a very bad review, but looking at the price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave_Manimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in August. The room was small but cozy and nice. The shared bathrooms were a but of a drag, but that's what keeps the price lower. The highlight is really the great couple that run the place. They are friendly and helpful. And their staff are keen also. The breakfast is another highlight. Good selection and good coffee!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night..had shared bathroom which i was not expecting...but clean non the less.mmbedroim n sheets were clean...most of all very friendly staff...breakfast started at8 but i had to leave early so they quickly rushed to serve warever they cud...nice plp

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bino_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Closest tube is about a 10-15 minute walk. Shared bathroom was small but clean. Room was nice and clean. However, we stayed on a Saturday night and the hotel rooms are above a pub. The music was pretty loud and going until 2am. Lots of sirens going on throughout the night as well. But I will say the stay was cheap and a nice breakfast was included.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We tried to get a hotel room in Camden for 3 on the August bank holiday weekend - however the only available double/triple rooms for two nights I could find were in the Holiday Inn, Camden Lock at a cost of £500 for two nights!
However, I popped onto Late rooms and got the dates we wanted at the Castle Bar, Holloway Rd., for £150!!! This was also a triple occupancy option as it was our daughters birthday (3 single beds.)
On arrival the room was large, clean and well appointed - everything worked and although my wife had reservations regarding the shared bathroom facility, it was very clean, functional and didn't cause any issues throughout our stay.
The breakfast (yes the price included breakfast!) was of a very good standard and we could choose continental/ham and cheese omlette or a full english with toast and almost unlimited juice/tea/coffee!
The Spanish family owners were very friendly and welcoming and we would certainly return due to the atmosphere, service and unbelievable value for money! It did cost £7.60 for us to get a 5 minute bus ride to Camden High Street but when we had saved £350 over two nights it really didn't matter!
Gracias por una estancia maravillosa!

Room Tip: Room 6 was very good as it was at the end of the top floor corridor with very little noise from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamemmawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Corner House Hotel
#750 of 1,067 in London
398 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#117 of 557 in London
179 reviews
Bennys B and B
#108 of 557 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kandara Guest House
#25 of 557 in London
134 reviews
The Old Crown Inn
#245 of 557 in London
115 reviews
Go Native Camden
#382 of 843 in London
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Bar

Property: The Castle Bar
Address: 392 Camden Road | Lower Holloway, London N7 0SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Castle Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Bar is a pub with accommodation (B&B), situated in Camden Road, a prime location in central London. The area is a quiet residential part of Islington with excellent connections to London's main shopping, cultural and Business in the heart of Central London. There are a total of 9 rooms in the hotel ranging from single, double and family rooms, with budget prices for a quality bed and breakfast accommodation in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Castle Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Bar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing