We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value, excellent food”
Review of Mien Tay

Mien Tay
Ranked #5,392 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value, excellent food”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

been going here years and love it, the décor may be tacky however don't let that put you off. the menu is very extensive and has some absolute gems and all at pretty great prices. The best south-east asian restaurant in the area I'd say hands down. staff are sweet as well. Remember that they only take cash, which is perhaps my one if minor criticism.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jgreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    94
    23
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Without doubt the worst service in London”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have never experienced ruder service than that which is inflicted on the patrons at Mien Tay. Nothing isn't too much hassle for their staff. It almost becomes a feature of the restaurant. The food itself is good, decent value, plus BYO is a great benefit, but please be prepared for the service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianjclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get - great food, great value, great service”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of Mien Tay. We went on a Friday evening and it was busy big time but that didn't detract from the service, choice or quality of the food. The starters were great (go for prawns baked in salt and pepper) and highly recommend the goat galangal or goat with chilli and lemongrass - both full of flavours and spice.

Do book well in advance and do come to this little gem - we'll be back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Order well and it's world class”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Some of the best food anywhere in my view, though you have to be careful what you order. The pho is delicious but the goat with galangal steals the show, perfectly spiced and so much flavour. It goes really well with some steamed rice and morning glory. Many of the starters are unbelievably good too, especially the soft-shell crab, fresh spring roll with shrimp and pork, barbecued quail and salt and chilli squid. The rest of the menu, especially some of the other main courses, can be average and it's a tragedy that it's no longer BYO. But it's still exceptional.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScoundrelDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Menu”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Came here for lunch with my wife following a lunch she had a few months ago with a friend and I have to say it lived up to her initial recommendation.
It's not really a restaurant, more like a cafe but a good cafe at that.
For £5.50 each we had a vegetable soup and a noodle dish, I had grilled goat and my wife had beef and the amount and quality was well beyond my expectations.
I'd have liked mine to be a bit on the spicy side (my first Vietnamese meal so I was expecting spicy for some reason) but the flavours were plain and simple and very good.
We will be back and next time for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mien Tay also viewed

 

Been to Mien Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing