We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order well and it's world class”
Review of Mien Tay

Mien Tay
Ranked #5,351 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Order well and it's world class”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Some of the best food anywhere in my view, though you have to be careful what you order. The pho is delicious but the goat with galangal steals the show, perfectly spiced and so much flavour. It goes really well with some steamed rice and morning glory. Many of the starters are unbelievably good too, especially the soft-shell crab, fresh spring roll with shrimp and pork, barbecued quail and salt and chilli squid. The rest of the menu, especially some of the other main courses, can be average and it's a tragedy that it's no longer BYO. But it's still exceptional.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScoundrelDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    96
    23
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Menu”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Came here for lunch with my wife following a lunch she had a few months ago with a friend and I have to say it lived up to her initial recommendation.
It's not really a restaurant, more like a cafe but a good cafe at that.
For £5.50 each we had a vegetable soup and a noodle dish, I had grilled goat and my wife had beef and the amount and quality was well beyond my expectations.
I'd have liked mine to be a bit on the spicy side (my first Vietnamese meal so I was expecting spicy for some reason) but the flavours were plain and simple and very good.
We will be back and next time for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Four of us dined at this wonderful Vietnamese restaurant on Christmas Eve. (It's just as well we had booked in advance. Otherwise we wouldn't have been managed to get in!). The unprepossessing exterior certainly does not predict the treasures to be found inside. Like the welcoming hist, Su Tran, and hostess, Ny Lee, much of the food originates from the Mekong Delta. I started with delicious Mien Tay Spring Rolls - not your thick batter coating enclosing weedy bamboo shoots but prawn and pork wrapped in a crisp lattice-work , melt-in-the mouth coating. A delightful fresh green papaya salad with prawns followed. The stir-fried chicken with ginger and spring onions was exceptional. To list all I ate would suggest insatiable gluttony but all of us ate much and delighted in each mouthful. It was an exceptionally enjoyable experience and certainly not one that I expected to find in Battersea. Book in advance and enjoy the exceptional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benson149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good first experience of a Vietnamese restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had been past Mien Tay many times and it had always seemed very busy, which is usually a good sign. We called in for an impromptu early evening meal on Christmas Eve, with our two children.

The service was fast and eficient, and the food was very tasty, especially the chicken curry, served in a clay pot. There was plenty of choice on the menu, to suit all tastes and at around £60 for the four of us (the two children shared a dish and I only had a couple of beers) it was pretty good value too.

Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finally, decent Vietnamese that's South of the river”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous food, cute and efficient wait staff and delicious food... What more could you need in Clapham Junction. A must visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mien Tay also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Mien Tay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing