We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious west indian food”
Review of Negril

Negril
Reserve with OpenTable
Negril is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,571 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious west indian food”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Really varied menu, really different from your run of the mill restaurants. Good quality and fresh ingredients well cooked The only thing is that it is a little bit expensive for the portion sizes you get.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngharadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    64
    22
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good authentic jamaican jerk”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The first few times we went to this place we aimed specifically for their jerk chicken platter, which was excellent, tasted very fresh and healthy. We were impressed that even the chips were home made and prepared that afternoon. On our fourth visit we decided to divert from our obvious selection and tried their English breakfast, which I am disappointed to say was quite the contrary to our experiences with the jerk. The last couple of times I went the food wasn't up to scratch or as generous or up to the divine standard we were used to and so we haven't been there in months. However, I hope this place picks up again and we can come around and enjoy our favourite platter soon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little Gem!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant following the Urban Art Fair nearby. In need of some comfort food but feeling a bit bewildered in Brixton we saw this place and took a chance.

Needless to say one look at the menu and we were sold! The food here is authentic, fresh and simply delicious! I had the veggie bean burger and the plantain wedges which was like home cooking.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants some authentic home cooking in a no frills setting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A cosy place with a family atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I don't live far away from Negril and go there every chance I get.
The service is always done with a smile and when picking up take out there is always someone that will stop for a chat while you are waiting.
When you do decide to stay in the food is lovely and for drinks it is BYO with a very small corkage fee so a very priceworthy meal out.
This place is a must when you come to brixton. A great little hidden gem a few steps upp the hill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yohanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Summer brunch here is a must”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I love this place. Firstly, it's on Brixton Hill, a little out of central Brixton, so you're pretty much guaranteed to get a table (annoying when you go for brunch with friends and have to queue for a seat). Secondly, the laid back atmosphere, great music and outdoor seating (if it's sunny) are perfect for chilling out with friends. Thirdly, the food is great! They do the regular English fry-up, some breakfast options with a Caribbean twist, fresh coconut milk and brilliant smoothies. No complaints!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negril also viewed

 

Been to Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing