We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty coffee, cozy atmosphere”
Review of Sacred cafe

Sacred cafe
Ranked #9,507 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty coffee, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Title says it all, the space in downstairs have very cozy atmosphere, perfect lighting,perfect volume of music, each tables and chairs are perfectly placed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Myst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    15
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I don't drink coffee (I know shock horror!!) but I recently had a hot chocolate in this cafe and it was the best one I had tasted in a long time! Can't wait to return!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great option for coffee in the West End”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Always a pleasure to visit Sacred Cafe on Ganton Street. Tucked away between Regent St & Carnaby you're much less likely to have to queue than in one of the more obvious local chain coffee houses Also the coffee and cakes are way more delicious!

Visited on a rainy Sunday for the first time in about a year. Can highly recommend something a bit different - the New Zealand lolly cake. Service is good in Sacred and the decor is fun and homely

Will be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuchLoveTerryTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best latte I've ever had!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We seem to find ourselves here every time we're in London- as one of the other reviews said it's an oasis in the busiest part of London and they serve the best latte in the world and massive cakes in a really friendly atmosphere. Not sure they'd appreciate being called Australian though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robajob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Divine coffee in an eclectic setting”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just off bustling Carnaby Street the subdued café boasts rich, earthy tones, plush leather sofas, as well as a healthy dose of Marian inspired décor, juxtaposed with Kiwi inspired trinkets, and modernist wall-hangings. Though the décor was perplexing I quickly expunged my lingering questions from my mind as I approached the bar and was greeted with a very up-beat and friendly Barista. I ordered a double long black (not recommended for those with a heart condition) while my friends chose to sample two varieties of their loose-leaf teas. After finding a delightful sofa down-stairs our order arrived. At this juncture it should be noted that I am a bit of a coffee snob, but even I could find no negative to obsessively dwell on. My long black was aromatic and earthy, the crema was intact, and I was completely gobsmacked at the portion (I estimated around 10 oz.). My friends were equally impressed with their teas which were each served in a quirky tea pot (one in the shape of a Federalist style home and the other was painted with a amusing carnival-esque theme). Having so fully enjoyed the liquid offerings of the Sacred we decided to test out their victuals as well. We each honed in on their fresh-made desserts and concluded that we must try their carrot cake. The slice presented to us was more than ample for three people. The sponge was perfectly baked and quite loaded with shaved carrot, an overall success. Though the Sacred might be adjacent to one of the busiest districts in London, frightfully full of aimless tourists, the café is a pleasant enclave for Londoners seeking to escape the hordes. In the end, The Sacred Café is truly a god-send (Pun intended).

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOxfordBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred cafe also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sacred cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing