We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Indian 2

Grand Indian 2
Ranked #17,247 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Decent Indian food and at a good price for this part of London. Lacked a bit of atmosphere though this was Sunday evening. Good location - not slap bang in the middle of the busy thoroughfares. Good location for a pre or post-theatre meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulYork919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DLMama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had pre theatre lunch in here & were very pleased with it. All the dishes were nice. Very friendly, quick service & reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Absolutely atrocious. Below average food - the chicken tasted as if it had been cooked the day before - impolite staff, and very expensive. I'll never go back again and wouldn't recommend anyone else waste their money there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thekanady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Food - Abrupt Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a busy Saturday night with another couple. We hadn't booked in advance but did get a table.

Restaurant décor is nice – Lots of mirrors to give the illusion of space.

Toilets – Small but clean

Food – Lovely. Everybody in the group enjoyed their meal. We all had varied dishes from Vindaloos to Prawn Masala. – Lovely!

Starters were nice too but over-priced. If I was going back there I would not get a starter. Bad Value. Example I had Lamb Tikka which was delicious but it was a tiny amt and salad taking up most of the side plate.

The waiter’s attitude needs to improve. When ordering our waiter was abrupt. He wanted main dishes first from everyone individually, then the type of rice from everyone and then the drinks again going around the table on three separate occasions.

At one stage during the meal a waiter was replacing cutlery and threw it on the table instead of arranging it as is normally done.

I had two glasses of coke – which came out without any “Coke Bottle”. I noticed that it was a little flat so would not be surprised if it was from a 2 Ltr bottle instead of an individual can or btl.

We left happy though as the food was lovely, spicy & hot.

If the waiters had better manners & customer service skills it would be a fantastic place to at with friends or family.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indian 2 also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Grand Indian 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing