We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl Hotel London
Ranked #833 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Totally disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

It was my worst experience staying in a "Hotel" that provides incorrect details on the website I booked with. I know it's cheap but seriously, cheap doesn't always have to be lousy!

My husband and I were totally disgusted walking into the "hotel". Very strong curry smell all over the place! We were shocked to when we walk into our room, it is just a very tiny cubical with a super single bed they called DOUBLE. We don't even have space for our luggage! Ridiculous!

It was winter but guess what, they don't even have a proper blanket. It was a carpet wrap in some sheets and barely enough for one person. The bedsheet they lay over the mattress was so short that it revealed the side of the mattress and I requested for a change before going out but no one came!

All I can say is, after this experience, every time I go to London, I will choose to stay in 4 stars hotel instead of cheap and crappy ones.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    35
    15
    37
See reviews for
20
50
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for a theatre trip for five days. Ahmet and the staff were very friendly and the room I received was wonderful. Despite being a bit small and in the basement it was clean, warm, with a double bed, fridge, tea making facility, and a television that got every channel. The bathroom was quite large compared to other rooms upstairs and in a long hallway separate from the bedroom. The free Wifi in the rooms is a total plus and worked great throughout my stay. The free breakfast consisted of cereals, breads and fried eggs with beans and toast, plus tea and coffee; it got crowded in the reception/lobby area but was worth the wait. The hotel is located in a quiet section of Shepherd's Bush but there are businesses, restaurants and a giant Tesco within short walking distance. The older section of Shepherd's Bush is about a minute away and has Cafe Rest, a wonderful old style calf to get a full English, and A. Cooke's across the street, where Quadrophenia was filmed and who serves the best eel stew and jellied eels. Both Hammersmith and Shepherd's Bush tube and bus stations are nearby, as is the Westfield shopping center and Shepherd's Bush Market. Overall, it was the perfect hotel for a short trip and the location enabled me to attend whatever theatre performance and see any sight on my itinerary with ease.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night here. Wish I didn't. Bed was dirty shower errrr never seen so much mould! Bulb out in room and carpet coming up in doorway. Wondered why it was cheap with breakfast included. Upstairs looked ok but we were shoved in the basement. Have learnt my lesson and will book something more expensive next time! I Phoned to ask if they had a room where we could keep our bags if we arrived before booking in time, was told yes. This was only in the reception/ breakfast room/ lounge where anyone could walk away with them!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were booked in for 2 nights well in advance by our personnel manager to attend a conference at Olympia nearby. Arrived at the hotel about nine pm, greeted by bored older gentlemen who informed me that I would have two different rooms for the two nights of my stay! Didn't explain or apologise at all for the inconvenience if having to repack and check out and re check in again the next day. My room was number 24 in the basement for the first night with carpets not fitted properly and a mouldy shower stall. No hair dryer or free wi Fi contrary to advertising. Breakfast was oily and involved shared pots of jam that who knew how long had been open, in the reception/lobby/breakfast room.

Checked back in the second night was room 22 upstairs which was a miniscule single room. The bathroom was a joke no normal human could sit on the toilet and have room to shut the door without crushing your kneecaps. Water pressure was non existent. No fire directions on the door either which might possibly be against health and safety regs and a three point plug in the bathroom which is against building regs.

Never ever ever again. Just don't.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Not a great hotel, beds dirty and not nice rooms. i should have booked a better hotel as part of a chain!. hilton just down the road, better breakfast at mcdonalds.
booked for christmas shopping but the room was dissapointing. rooms tiny go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked online thinking it was a good deal and a good price. The room was small and the beds where horrible, we slept bad and woke up with stiffness and pain from the hard madress. The floor was uneaven. The first day the hot water did not work.
Breakfast was a sad affair, eggs and beans without a hint off salt, margarin instead off butter and stale pastries. Breakfast was served in the same room as the reception and sitting there was odd.

The area around the hotell was no better, hardly any restaurants and the ones that where there where not very good.
The good part was the large amount of busses that passed just outside the hotell to the subway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Linnea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Comfotel Prpl
#934 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#810 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hotel 65
#793 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#676 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Royal Guest House 2
#721 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Sapphire Hotel London
Sapphire Hotel London
#364 of 574 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel London

Property: Pearl Hotel London
Address: 49 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pearl Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing