We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food :) Reasonable prices”
Review of Vy Nam Cafe

Vy Nam Cafe
Ranked #5,857 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food :) Reasonable prices”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fab food. Great place, much better than standard local fare.

The only problem is the staff don't speak much English, so if orders do go wrong, it's a bit confusing to rectify. (Although they do their very best). The staff do make up for their lack of English with their smiles and welcoming nature though.

Service is fast and generally efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizevony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    14
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Uk
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value authentic experience of Vietnamese food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Vy Nam is never going to win awards for glamour or decor, and as others have commented, its lighting and furnishings are cheap and cheerful. This all becomes unimportant when you consider the food, which is amazing, the prices, which are very good value, and the service, which is friendly and efficient. We have been twice in fairly quick succession, once with friends, once just the two of us, and have still barely scratched the surface of the varied and interesting menu.

This time around we had a selection of starters - which are very good portions and a wonderful introduction to Vietnamese food - plus the marinated fish sharing platter, which comes with translucent rice paper pancakes, noodles, salad and dipping sauce for making your own delicious wraps. This was a highlight as were the crispy golden pancakes and the fresh summer rolls. With a couple of beers, and including service, our meal came to £44 for the two of us which I think is exceptional value, especially as there was so much food (we ordered special fried rice which we didn't need) that we were able to take some home in a box for the following day.

Thoroughly recommended though be warned it gets pretty busy in the evenings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always delicious. A good place to catch up with friends.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have eaten here several times and will carry on doing so. The food is always excellent and the staff are courteous and attentive. You can stay as long as you like without being made to feel as though you should get a move on and leave. I always enjoy catching up with friends here. Even when busy, you can chat without having to raise your voice or strain your ears. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilonaemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had lunch with the family here - good food and service. Evenings they seem to be busy..show how good they are.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went last night with my husband, amazing food and service. Will go back and bring friends and family. Excellent value for money and portions are very generous. The restaurant was quite full but we did not wait long for our food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mashirlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vy Nam Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Vy Nam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing