We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“|Eavesdropping waitress a good thing! -”

Roxie Steak - Earlsfield
Ranked #2,048 of 22,842 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“|Eavesdropping waitress a good thing! -”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pleasantly flavoured selection of starters. The illusion of reasnsbly priced mains is quickly broken once you've added sauce and chips/veg. However, everythng was very fresh and the service was perfectly attentive. The waitress even eavesdropped to know a single boule of vanilla ice cream was required to settle a parental tiff!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jblackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    67
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best steak this side of the river”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Every time we go its the same - brilliant service, perfect wine and amazing steak. I don't think we could ask for anything else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A meat eaters delight”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Steaks cooked to perfection whether medium/well-done or medium/rare, well supported by the excellent side dishes of creamy mash and spinach with the desserts adding a very favorable final touch to an enjoyable meal. All this was complimented by outstanding service from a friendly and vivacious waiter. A most enjoyable evening meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A steak restaurant with three headless chickens.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I reviewed this a few months back when it was called Fyre. It appears now to have been taken over by another organisation who have a sister restaurant in Fulham. Strange experience - if you put the service to one side it was the same as before. Great food at a great price. In fact I'm fairly sure the menu hasn't actually changed much apart from the addition of some BBQ stuff. Fantastic steaks, tender well cooked. The chef must be the same as must the source of the produce.

What almost ruins the experience is that the service was totally erratic and frustrating. They either came too quickly or forgot about you. Wine ordered not arriving. Bill presented but not coming to take the money. Plates cleared and the detritus from them being spilt on guests. A blank look of horror on the waitresses face who clearly didn't know what to do or say. Empty bottles and glasses gathering on the table not being cleared. I could go on.

Why was this? My guess is that no one front of house appears to bein charge. So there were three headless chickens who had no one to guide them.

Service can be fixed if someone "cares". Because the food is great I'd still recommend it. What was concerning was it was nowhere near as busy as last time when we went mid-week. We're not that local...perhaps those that are have given up and moved on...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“keep it a secret”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This used to be called fyre, the food here is excellent, up there with gauchos for the best tasting meat in London and half the price. its a small restaurant so gets busy on weekends and you definitely need to book in advance, but its worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_A-B_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxie Steak - Earlsfield also viewed

 

Been to Roxie Steak - Earlsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing