We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #50 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed 5 nights- when rates were high- basically close to $600 usd per night- for two twin beds (weird). needless to say, at this price had some basic expectations. Ate about 5 meals from room service- all were sub par- one was terrible- green curry chicken- mushrooms were hard- almost raw- rice was undercooked and curry was so spicy could barely eat it ( and we eat curry frequently). Requested USadapter be brought to room- they brought one that did not work- bathroom outlet doesn't work for hair dryer so u have to dry hair by bed. When I arrived I had to wait two hours in lobby as they had no rooms clean- after flying 8 hours I was falling asleep inobby. For $600 a night you'd think they could allow early check in. Bathroom was annoying- super heavy shower door that lets water out all over- shower heads that spray you in face- no normal size towels only giant bath sheets hmm what else? Good location for walking to big Ben Westminster abbey and London eye- otherwise not much around- not much choice in restaurants- of the room was about $250 a night it would be a nice choice. Service was good however- especially maids and room service and concierge

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calif01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Calif01,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience. It was unfortunate to see the stay was not what you have come to up to your expectations or ours. We regret any difficulties experienced while staying with us. We truly appreciate the high marks for Cleanliness, Rooms, and Service. We take all reviews that we receive very seriously, and your feedback will help us with addressing areas where we might improve. We hope that should you be in our area again we would have the opportunity to show you just how great our hotel can be.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,701 - 2,707 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Hotel has a great location. It is near from all the main attractions of London but away from the noise. The staff was nice and professional exept at the check out, I was not even asked how was my stay, the receptionist did not wish me a safe trip back and did not even ask to help me with the bags. Also, the breakfast was not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nawal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Nawal B,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide the best in comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're regret you were not fully satisfied with the service received at check out. We were pleased to see such high marks for Cleanliness, Rooms, Service, and Sleep Quality. We hope that you give us a chance in the future so we may show you the full level of service for which we are known.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent a weekend here recently and it was lovely - luxury all the way. We arrived early but it was no problem and we were promptly checked in. We also had our room upgraded which made it all the more special. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, the pillows perfect. Slippers and bath robes provided as well as Molton Brown amenities in the bathroom. Bathrooms in london are usually tiny but not this one - marble floors, big walk in rain shower and separate bath. Rooms are very stylish, loved the TV wall.

Staff were friendly but never intrusive which is how it should be. Had full english breakfast in the morning which was also very nice. The location is very good, just round the corner from buckingham palace and there is also a tube station right across the road. Nice quiet area, away from the main hustle and bustle.

If you want a bit of luxury, you cant beat this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NjoB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 8 days at this newly-renovated and truly lovely hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the standard rooms are just large enough to accommodate two people, but the king-sized bed in our room was luxurious and comfortable and the waterfall shower in the bathroom was always a treat after a long day of strenuous sight-seeing. The location couldn't be better, with the St. James tube station and a Starbucks right across the street, and Westminster Abbey just a 5 minute walk. Towards the end of our stay we also figured out that it was even more convenient than the subway, and much easier on the feet, to catch the bus along Victoria Street to go to Trafalgar Square. This hotel even had a bank of electrical outlets above the desk to accommodate 1 appliance each from countries that use other plugs -- something we hadn't seen before. I am still baffled, however, as to why even high-end recently renovated European hotel bathrooms don't have electrical outlets that will allow the use of hair driers or curling irons. Every morning I pushed glassware on the shelves above the minibar aside to use the mirror in the bedroom to dry and curl my hair. Small concern, but given every other convenience, luxury and attention to detail in this lovely hotel it was the continuation of a standard European oddity. Nevertheless, we had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temperate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent soprings to mind - great service , fantastic staff - Special priase for David - who was the first member of the team to meet and greet us - set the standard high, and the rest of the team continued .

We arrived slightly early , but the staff were not at all worried or put out , we were offered Tea nad coffe which was realy very nice , and we were adcvised as soon as outr room was ready.

Excellent facilities, very clean and well laid out.


Will certainly visit again , and stop longer..a great experience

Room Tip: Any , all are very good. No geat views , no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSD6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently with my friend as a birthday treat. The hotel is in an excellent spot, less than 10 minute walk to Buckingham Palace one way and Westminster the other. Tube Station opposite hotel couldn't have been more convenient. We went to see Wicked at the Apollo Theatre again less than a 10 minute walk. Lovely lounges in the hotel to have tea or coffee, one late afternoon a harpist was even playing. We stayed in a Classic Room which was really lovely, the beds were so comfortable. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel and thank you to the staff who were all so nice and helpful. I was that impressed with the hotel that I have booked to stay there again next month when I visit London.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 9 days on a mix of business and pleasure. The location was easy walking distance to my office and also to many of the tourist attractions. I was able to walk to Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, and Parliament - all very easily. Everything is within a couple miles of hotel.

The lobby and rooms are really beautifully designed. The place has a sleek and modern aesthetic. The rooms are not very large, but they are nicely laid out. I felt very comfortable being here for over a week. The hotel dedicates quite a bit of space to the bathrooms, which have both standalone showers and bathtubs.

The service was prompt and attentive, but almost invisible, which I liked. Everyone was friendly, but not overbearing. The room was really nicely refreshed when I returned every evening.

I would definitely come back and stay here again, but there were a couple drawbacks to note. First, the lobby is heavily perfumed, like as overwhelming as an Abercrombie store. It is pretty gross. Second, I stayed in two different rooms and both had showers that leaked. They look very modern, but they will get water all over the bathroom floor. I'd suggest doing your best not to spray water near the walls or door. Last, there is a gym in this hotel, but it is really tiny and basically not worth having. If you want to work out, you are better off going for a run.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,340 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Address: 22 - 28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#34 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Business Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $273 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad London St. James England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing