We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad London St. James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad London St. James
Ranked #38 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is two blocks away from Westminster abbey and its really easy to get around. Eventhough the staff did not pay any atention to us, except for Glenda that received us in an amazing way and was very nice to my daughter and me, the fact that it is located so well, makes it worth the while.
the food was not good at all, very expensive and not good, but there are many places very near where you can get a good breakfast, lunch or dinner!
i do recommend the hotel if you dont have expectations about how the staff will respond to your stay there.
i would stay there again with no doubt!
great location, easy to get to and from there! Clean and worth the price payed.

Room Tip: our room was right next to the elevator on the second floor, and had exactly what we needed. we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Cindy N

Thank you for the review of your most recent stay with us in Westminster and I am pleased to read that Glenda made your daughter feel so welcome. I apologise if the food did not meet your expectations, as you will see from other reviews this is uncommon for us to receive such feedback however it is nice to see that you would return to us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    408
    81
    26
    16
See reviews for
375
1,064
123
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

cannot fault the place, very clean, very good service and 5 star room. Pay the extra and you wont regret it. Staff made you feet like a lottery winner. The room was spacious and very modern with the best hotel tv ive ever watched, expense wasnt spared when kitting this place out

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davethezip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear davethezip

Thank you for the excellent review of your most recent stay in Westminster and I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and that the team here stood out making you feel like a 'lottery winner'.

I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to experience the same again.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for one night on Priority Club points as we came down to see the London Marathon. We expected an excellent experience given the Tripadvisor reviews but were totally blown away by the hotel and it's staff. Check in was excellent and nothing seemed too much trouble even being escourted to the lift!

We were upgraded to a Club King room which was huge (biggest TV ever) and very luxurious.

We had pre-dinner drinks which were excellent and breakfast that was superb.

The overall design of the hotel is very interesting and unusual with some fantastic touches and so quiet for central London. St James tube is next door but again you would never have known it.

Overall we were very impressed and will return again as a special treat. Thank you Intercontinental for proving that it is possible to establish a new hotel of the highest quality and design.

Room Tip: Try for an internal facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Alan&Sylvia

Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay over Marathon weekend here in Westminster, I am delighted to read that as one of our loyal members we were able to 'blow you away!' and that our team stood out during your time with us.

As you point out in your post we are ideally located to St James Park tube station and a stones throw from Westminster Abbey, St James Park and Buckingham Palace, indeed the marathon passed a street away, 800m from the finishing line. Next time you visit you should try one of our running maps created by Paula Radcliffe, London at its finest all within 5.1km of the hotel!

I am pleased to see that you intend to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 16th and 17th March. We arrived early about 10am on the Saturday morning and were shown to our room upon check-in. As Ambassador members, we were given a room upgrade (junior suite) and complimentary bottled water still/sparkling, fruit, chocs/sweets were also provided. The room while not huge was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was quite large, with seperate shower and bath. We used the facilities of the club lounge, breakfast each morning (including the morning we arrived), evening drinks etc. The lounge also had a menu from which you could choose items made to order which you can pay for which was nice since you didn't have to leave the tranquility of the lounge. On the Saturday night we had dinner at the Blue Boar Restaurant which again was of a high standard and a thoroughly enjoyable expierence. The location of the hotel is very good, directly across from St James tube station on Broadway, you can also walk to many of the sights within 15 to 20 mins. We usually stay at the Intercontinental Park Lane, which is always fantastic, however we have fallen for this property big time as it is smaller, a boutique feeling to it and the staff are exceptional, each member we encountered was very friendly and always had time for a chat or indeed to answer whatever query we may have had. This is an exceptional property and a great addition to London from Intercontinental. Please keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reggob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear reggob

Thank you for the fantastic review of your most recent stay with us in Westminster and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your so many aspects of your visit including the Lobby Lounge & Blue Boar and that the service was one thing that stood out the most.

Please be assured we will not let our standards slip, we only intend to get better! I do hope that it won't be St Patricks Day 2014 before you can visit us once again and we look forward to welcoming you if this opportunity arises.

With Best Wishes

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quit fun to stay at a new address in London, away from the action, but indeed the action is just around the corner! You have Scotland Yard, House of Parliament, Justice Ministry outside your window and a short walk up to Mayfair and shopping.

Food & Beverage was nice in the Pub Style restaurant. Service could however be better and I think they have a touch of "learning process" still. The meat and the food quality was outstandig and by the best british cuisine I ever tried. The pub/bar section is great and very lively full - if you are lucky you will meet both ministers and MP's around...

Something I really appreciate while staying at InterContinental is the lawish buffet breakfasts (the one at InterContinental Park Lane is fantastic). Here it was quit dissapoiting because they only have al'a carte option, which was of high quality and tasty, but not the lovely one me and my wife loves when we have a weekend away.

Fitness Center is limited, but they offer high class machines and complimentary chilled Llanlyr water. I also missed a large mirror in the room, otherwise nothing to claim about. Concierge service as usual good at InterContinental and everywhere the team members was courteus.

The art and style of this really luxury hotel is true and well-accompanied. Carpets was made with fingerprints (the Scotland Yard theme) and arts in the lobby was ex. Rooms are small and the feeling of this InterContinental is rather boutique style than a fancy large hotel. It's up to you if you wish the glamour of Park Lane or the more equisite elegance of a boutique style hotel that got everyhting. I'm pretty sure that I personally should go for the Westminister.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear THR02

Thank you for the excellent review of your most recent stay with us in Westminster I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we are your InterContinental of choice in London.

Please be assured I have shared your comments about Blue Boar with our Restaurant Director to review with her teams, I am sorry if the service during your meal was not as you expected, however I am pleased you enjoyed Blue Boar Bar, it really has become a hub of the Westminster Village.

I do hope on your next visit to London you will stay with us once again.

With Best Wishes

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights with friends from US at this fab new hotel. The check in staff were friendly and the concierge knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel itself is a 2 minute walk from Westminster Abbey, so dead easy to get everywhere in London. Our rooms (superior King) were luxurious. Don't expect a huge room - this is London - but decorated beautifully with luxurious fittings and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in at a hotel! As previous reviewer mentioned, the hotel smells divine. It was spotlessly clean, both in our rooms and the public areas. Eat in the Blue Boar restaurant too (see seperate review) as its great. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room, or maybe a front facing room. Our rooms were above the service area on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Petnic

Many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us in Westminster, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us in particular your room and Blue Boar.

As you point out the hotel has an ideal location adjacent to St James Park tube station & a stones throw from both Parliament Sq and St James Park.

I do hope we can welcome you to Westminster once again in the near future.

With Best Wishes

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the moment we stepped foot in this hotel everythign was perfect.

Upon entering the hotel we were greated by an absolutely fantastic smell being provided through the air vents. After asking the concierege what this smell was, we were told it is supplied by a company called Brandaroma. Highly recommended and made an excellent first impression. Also given a small bottle to take home with us.

We then checked in an the staff were fantastic. Efficient and attentitive.

The room we were given was top notch and we couldnt have asked for anymore. Superb decor and a lovely, comfortable bed.

The hotel is perfectly located opposite St James tube station and is local to the Houses of Parliment and Westminster Abbey.

Overall excellent hotel and thouroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge for a takeaway bottle of the smell being put through the AC. We did and got one co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Manager at Conrad London St. James, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear travelalot934

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay in Westminster I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay including our scent of Pomegranate and Grass that fills the public areas.

It is great to see that our Concierge team gave you a bottle to take home and hope that the reminder of us will mean that you will visit us again in the very near future.

With Best Wishes

Scot Turner, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#32 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,490 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#21 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#9 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#6 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad London St. James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad London St. James

Property: Conrad London St. James
Address: 22-28 Broadway, London SW1H 0BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#34 Romantic Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#43 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad London St. James 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Conrad London St. James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad London St. James England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing