We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cant fault it for a night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #435 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cant fault it for a night away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Ive just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. Seeing as i was away with work, and based in Old Broad Street, this hotel was perfect. Its less than a 5 minute walk away from Bank station, which was brilliant for me.

The room was basic, but clean and very spacious (Room 303). I overlooked some office buildings, as opposed to being at the front of the hotel, so i didnt hear much noise at all. In fact, i had a great nights sleep! There are no toiletries in the bathroom (but i always take my own anyway) and you have to pay for WiFi, but you do get tea/coffee making facilities, some freeview channels on the TV, and you cant fault the power of the shower!

Overall, this is a great hotel for the price - if i was travelling to London for work again, i would definitely stay here for the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandDave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    242
    97
    37
    36
See reviews for
46
276
45
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I honeymooned in Europe, starting in London -- this hotel was a bit tricky to find and jetlag didn't help carrying our luggage around almost a mile before it was there, not more than a couple blocks walk from the Tube station there. It's in more of a business district, but close to the Tower and other touristy places to walk to. The overall hotel was OK -- bathroom, bed, room itself. our bad experience was there was apparently some work being done in the building next door or right below are room that woke us up at 7am the morning after we arrived (on a Saturday) that we were told on Friday when we heard it would NOT be going on on Saturday. Again, add jet-lag and exhaustion from a wedding, we were just unhappy they didn't tell us the correct information. Price was OK for what we got as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We would like to say a big thank you to Eddie on reception on Saturday evening. We arrived at 6. 30 to check in, only to be told that our room had a flood and the hotel was fully booked. At first I thought that the room had been double booked and was a bit upset, but another guest reported that her room was damp too. Eddie immediately rang around to find us another room at nearby travelodges. He managed to get us a room at London City road and organised a taxi for us to get to the theatre on time. We were very happy with our room it was very clean and quiet. So once again than you Eddie, your actions were brilliant, we hope your manager sees this review.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LorraineS298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fantastically close to three under ground stations as well as being fantastically priced. You couldn't ask for more, other than option for a cooked breakfast on site. Friendly staff in lovely clean facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a great stay. Basic Travelodge template but clean and warm ( I normally stay at the Tower Hill Travelodge and that isn't always warm!) with friendly and helpful staff

Centrally located, lots of places to eat (note there is no restaurant attached) and easy walking to numerous tube stations or tourist attractions. Great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms for a Saturday night. We booked quite late and the rooms were £128 each. The hotel has no catering facilities and the vending machine selling cold drinks was broken. We found a Sainsbury Local at the top of nearby Cornhill and bought drinks there. The two members of staff we met were both polite and the hotel is located well for Bank and Cannon Street stations. Be WELL aware that this part of London is Monday to Friday only. Almost everything within walking distance closes on the weekend.

We had major negatives however. We await response from the complaints department of the chain, but without resolution we will seek Court resolution. The one room we booked was flooded with what smelled like a leaking toilet in a room above. The stench was overwhelming. The room could only be used with window wide open. The hotel was fully booked so no other room available. When we were complaining there was another couple being told that despite a confirmed reservation there was no room for them at all - reception was ringing around other hotels to find them space. There were other members of our family who had booked rooms long before us, wanted twin rooms, had them confirmed only to be told only doubles available.

This was far from our best experience of hotels in the UK or anywhere else. Bad value for money. In its favour staff were nice and our tiny double room was clean and useable for one night. As mentioned, location OK so long as you know, on weekends, everything nearby closed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyaleDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment RoyaleDeluxe. We would expect our vending machines to be in good working order so it is regrettable to learn it was out of order during your stay. Our housekeeping team are required to notice any unpleasant smells in a room and will air the room our accordingly, if necessary this room will not be given to a guest. We can confirm that our Customer Service team do respond to every email sent and will be sure to investigate your issues directly with the hotel, we are sorry to learn of the delay in response. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Looks recently refurbed and is a stones throw from the underground, literally surrounded by restaurants and breakfast bars. Good choice especially after reading the other really scary Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 131blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#229 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Property: Travelodge London Central Bank
Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London
Travelodge London Central Bank England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing