We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #488 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights here with my partner whilst visiting London from up North.

We were a little worried about finding the hotel but being just off a main road it was pretty easy. The road nearby has numerous eateries and two underground stations so location wise this is pretty fantastic especially for the price.

Pros: Good location, clean, comfortable, pillows and duvets may have been brand new, very little noise for being central.

Only con: Room is a bit on the small size - would not recommend for staying more than two nights if got two suitcases.

I would stay again for a short break - bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisalives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge London Central Bank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean and tidy. Central location. Nice big bed. Close to at least 3tube stations. And close to weatherspoons for a decent breakfast. Builders close by made some noise during the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed Friday & Saturday night. There is currently building work going on so if you want to lie in after 8.00am you'll be out of luck. This did not effect our stay in anyway.
We used the early check in facility which was great as we travelled by National Express and wanted to dump our luggage so we could explore. There are three tube stations in a five minute walk and it's only a short walk down to the river to access the KPMG Clipper service.
The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I’m quite a regular Travelodge user – some are good, some not so good, but this one is tucked quietly away in a little courtyard off a narrow pedestrian street, brilliantly located just yards from Cannon Street and Bank tube stations so you can get just about anywhere quickly from here, and surprisingly quiet considering its very central City location. All else is standard Travelodge fare - efficient check in, clean if simple room and bath (shower) room, comfy bed and on this occasion (booked last minute and using a voucher code) all for £56 on a Friday night! Still irks me that this company don’t provide shampoo/shower gel although I've learnt to bring my own!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean, nice hostel with good location, Didnt store the bags when you checked out, a bit ennoying.. Highly recommend it if you rather wanna shop and eat well instead of pay alot for livining. 1 min from the Bank underground station, witch is on the "red line", same line as Oxford street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and have always been satisfied with the hotel. It is centrally located, the staff are helpful and if you get a cheap room it can be really good value for money.

I stayed their from Friday 13th September checking out (late check out) Monday 16th September.

No problem on Friday night, but was rudely woken @ 0700hrs on the Saturday morning, it sounded as if the drill was coming through from the room next door.

Went to the reception and was advised that the building work had been ongoing for a while and they shouldn't start until 0800hrs, but it was out-with their control.

The receptionist said they had plenty spare rooms and offered us a few other rooms but the noise could be heard in them all so we decided to stay put, no point moving if the noise didn't reduce. The same noise started on Sunday and Monday mornings too, not much fun when we had been out until the early hours!

We would have expected to have been notified beforehand that there was ongoing building works and the planned time-scales so we could have made an informed decision on whether or not to stay their.

Overall a disappointing trip as we stay here several times per year, and have always found this location to be noise free. Looks like we will have to see what else is available within the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarTin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are really sorry to learn of the disruption you experienced during your stay jooster69. Unfortunately some building work is taking place next door to our hotel. The work starts from 9am and our staff will request the builders to start after this time only. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the concerns you have raised regarding this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

reception not attended on arrival had to wait until she had finished sorting out the problem she had.basic room and clean as expected but not enough lighting to do makeup either in bathroom or bedroom so a problem. was not able to use drinks / snack machine in reception as there was not enough information for its use

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#274 of 1,073 in London
445 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $63 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London
Travelodge London Central Bank England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing