We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Central Bank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Bank
Ranked #378 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean and tidy. Central location. Nice big bed. Close to at least 3tube stations. And close to weatherspoons for a decent breakfast. Builders close by made some noise during the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    198
    79
    30
    22
See reviews for
33
230
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed Friday & Saturday night. There is currently building work going on so if you want to lie in after 8.00am you'll be out of luck. This did not effect our stay in anyway.
We used the early check in facility which was great as we travelled by National Express and wanted to dump our luggage so we could explore. There are three tube stations in a five minute walk and it's only a short walk down to the river to access the KPMG Clipper service.
The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I’m quite a regular Travelodge user – some are good, some not so good, but this one is tucked quietly away in a little courtyard off a narrow pedestrian street, brilliantly located just yards from Cannon Street and Bank tube stations so you can get just about anywhere quickly from here, and surprisingly quiet considering its very central City location. All else is standard Travelodge fare - efficient check in, clean if simple room and bath (shower) room, comfy bed and on this occasion (booked last minute and using a voucher code) all for £56 on a Friday night! Still irks me that this company don’t provide shampoo/shower gel although I've learnt to bring my own!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snjox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean, nice hostel with good location, Didnt store the bags when you checked out, a bit ennoying.. Highly recommend it if you rather wanna shop and eat well instead of pay alot for livining. 1 min from the Bank underground station, witch is on the "red line", same line as Oxford street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and have always been satisfied with the hotel. It is centrally located, the staff are helpful and if you get a cheap room it can be really good value for money.

I stayed their from Friday 13th September checking out (late check out) Monday 16th September.

No problem on Friday night, but was rudely woken @ 0700hrs on the Saturday morning, it sounded as if the drill was coming through from the room next door.

Went to the reception and was advised that the building work had been ongoing for a while and they shouldn't start until 0800hrs, but it was out-with their control.

The receptionist said they had plenty spare rooms and offered us a few other rooms but the noise could be heard in them all so we decided to stay put, no point moving if the noise didn't reduce. The same noise started on Sunday and Monday mornings too, not much fun when we had been out until the early hours!

We would have expected to have been notified beforehand that there was ongoing building works and the planned time-scales so we could have made an informed decision on whether or not to stay their.

Overall a disappointing trip as we stay here several times per year, and have always found this location to be noise free. Looks like we will have to see what else is available within the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarTin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Bank, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are really sorry to learn of the disruption you experienced during your stay jooster69. Unfortunately some building work is taking place next door to our hotel. The work starts from 9am and our staff will request the builders to start after this time only. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the concerns you have raised regarding this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

reception not attended on arrival had to wait until she had finished sorting out the problem she had.basic room and clean as expected but not enough lighting to do makeup either in bathroom or bedroom so a problem. was not able to use drinks / snack machine in reception as there was not enough information for its use

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel; is very well located within a short walk of Bank and Cannon Street stations.. The entrance is tucked away in a courtyard on a street with very little traffic. The room was clean, well presented, and adequately sized, with a large comfortable double bed and nice bedding. Room facilities were tea-making and TV. Wifi was available but extra. There was a small table and plastic chair. Clothes storage was negligible - five hangers and one small shelf. Bathroom was small but OK. the handbasin was particularly small and the shower curtain wasn't quite long enough, so expect water on the floor. The main issue as others have noted was no central heating or aircon. There was a small electric radiator (effectiveness unknown) but no fan in the room, This seems shortsighted. It would cost next to nothing and would have made a big difference to the comfort of the room on what was a warmish and somewhat humid evening. The window to the street was open, and although there were no cars, the voices of pedestrians were intrusive in the evening, and as it is a major business district, there were sure to be many more passers-by in the morning, so I decided to have window shut which made it somewhat stuffy . However, given the location, the hotel offers very good value for money despite the niggles (which could easily be fixed). .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank RodanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
City of London
Oakwood Bow Lane Apartments
Oakwood Bow Lane Apartments
#799 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Bank

Property: Travelodge London Central Bank
Address: 19-23 St. Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#302 Romantic Hotel in London
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Central Bank 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Central Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London
Travelodge London Central Bank England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing