We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary”

Westfield Stratford City
Ranked #163 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
264 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited the Westfield Centre around lunchtime on a Monday. Ate lunch at one of the fast food restaurants on the ground floor - greek style which looked a better choice than the inevitable KFC.
My view is that the shopping centre is the same as any shopping centre in the UK - nothing special with the same chain shops one can find almost anywhere. Bigger and more crowded than some shopping centres but still rather ordinary.
Easy to get to if you live in London but not somewhere to rave about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    471
    167
    48
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visit London every few months. We normally get the train into Victoria, but sometimes, as a change, we get the train into Stratford International, spend an hour or so in Westfield and maybe have lunch, then go into the West End on the tube.

I have to say that I can only manage short stays in this shopping centre. When we arrive mid morning, whether it's weekday or weekend it seems packed. When we make our return journey in the early evening the place is heaving with people.

The centre is on three floors, and it all seems a bit overwhelming.

If I'm on a serious shopping mission I will continue to go to Bluewater. Westfield is ok to pass through in transit, but the thought of an extended visit fills me with horror.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great shopping centre,some naff restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I go to Westfields on the odd week as its a quick journey on the DLR. it has great links in and around London. The shops are great with plenty to choose from inside and out. There is so many different types of restaurants to choose from, more than Bluewater, but avoid TGI Fridays when busy as it's minging. We went there on a Monday early evening and we were seated in between tables upon tables full of crap from previous customers.
The staff all look too young and in experienced and have no customer relations, they would rather mess around instead of making the place look tidy and presentable. They would also rather go and celebrate someone's birthday instead of taking your order.....so cheesy. We just got up and left and no one was bothered that we did. Avoid this restaurant at all costs.

The other good thing about Westfield is that they have so many lockers available that you can charge your mobile phone in and the first 30mins is free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dan4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Westfield shopping centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Brilliant, fabulous shopping and a wonderful food mart with food from all over the world. Highly recommended !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tilly345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place to Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a whole day in this fabulous Shopping Mall. You can find everything you wish in this Mega Mall. It is spacious with loads of shops and plenty of places to eat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris_P_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westfield Stratford City also viewed

 

Been to Westfield Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing