We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quick lunch”

​Byward Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #547 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: The Byward Kitchen and Bar is a venue that offers homemade, traditional, British food in a relaxing setting, near one of the country's favourite landmarks. Situated next to All Hallows by the Tower and a stones throw from The Tower of London, The restaurant offers a surprising oasis on the edge of one of the busiest cities in the world. Get away from the London hustle in our outdoor seating area in a lovely quiet garden setting. Or come in and experience the relaxed ambience and modern décor. Choose from our seasonal menu Breakfast, Lunch, evening supper or sample our craft beer's or choose a cocktail at the bar.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went at 12:10 one friday from the office and managed to get a table - the place fills up quickly and staff do not let you linger once you have finished eating if people are waiting for tables.

Food and service was good & friendly, no complaints & excellent all round

Ordered fish and chips, cheese ploughman, two soft drinks = £21


Much better than the restaurant / pub chains in the area and the church is well worth a visit too

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whydoineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    148
    56
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really nice venue with lovely small outside area to sit in the summer. I like the home made style cooking and friendly atmosphere.

A mixture of people visit from business types, friends and families.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingene, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem near the Tower of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hidden not far from the Tower, this little restaurant offers traditional British food at remarkably affordable prices, considering it is so close to a great mass of tourists.
Don't go in in a hurry though, you may have to wait a little though.
The host is a remarkable man with great joy and friendliness and tries to speak as much languages as possible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SabbeRubbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stopped in after a cold morning at the Tower of London. We got the last available table as the restaurant was packed. The service was fast and friendly. I ordered a hamburger at the recommendation of the waitress which was juicy and delicious. We struck up a conversation with another staff member, Andrew, who was absolutely delightful. When I asked him about mincemeat pie he gave me one to try for free. He sat down with us and discussed our sightseeing plans. He offered some recommendations to make our visit memorable. I will definitely go back on my next trip if only to chat with him again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The full English breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews on this cafe. I really enjoyed the full English breakfast - everything was cooked perfectly and the service was friendly enough. Not the finest breakfast joint in London but it was nice and homely and just what I wanted after a 14 hour plane ride. Prices are fair and I'd go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ​Byward Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to ​Byward Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing