We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le chamarel Restaurant Review”
Review of Le Chamarel

Le Chamarel
Ranked #4,748 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Le chamarel Restaurant Review”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to have Mauritian Briyani yesterday at Le Chamarel. The Briyani was nothing like Mauritian Briyani. No spice at all!! The noodles was like tesco noodles. Nothing special! I would not recommend this place. Certainly not a place to taste Mauritian food!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank neel0231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Mauritian food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been to Le Chamarel, Turnpike Lane, London several times and have always been impressed with the quality and freshness of food. The service is invariably excellent - friendly yet professional and the menu fairly varied, including a selection of Mauritian desserts. Get there by 8.30 for a good selection as the restaurant closes by about 9.30. Chilly lovers should try the hot homemade chilly sauce!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rookie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Came across this restaurant while shopping in the area. We had lunch there and were really surprised at the quality and service. There is obviously a great deal of care and pride in the preparation of this food. They even prepared a couple of extra chilli sauces for me which were just extraordinary. Will definitely be back for more of this delicious beautiful food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l28mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly good!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you have ever eaten Mauritian food before you will know how out-of-this-world delicious it is. Most restaurants can't capture the full flavour of home-cooked food for whatever reason but this place does. It reminds me of my mum's cooking and no word of a lie, my mouth waters just thinking about it. If you haven't tried Mauritian food before and can't afford the trip, go to Turnpike Lane and succumb to the flavour. The restaurant itself is not huge on ambiance or décor but they are friendly, portion sizes are good and most importantly the food is amazing. I will take my mum there to get her opinion when she next visits. I combine my visit with a trip to the cinema or the TK Maxx up the street as it's out of my way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oblongdisorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Place.”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My favourite dishes are the noodle, dhall puri, the fish curry and the desserts. Friendly people and a nice atmosphere! Price slightly on the high side but will definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chamarel also viewed

 

Been to Le Chamarel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing