We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing show.”
Review of War Horse

War Horse
Ranked #3 of 344 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing show.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing performance. As everyone says You forget they are puppets. Emotional. Well worth a trip to the theatre.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,371
    702
    216
    75
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well done production”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having read the book (wonderful story) seen the film, we looked forward to seeing the stage production and we were not disappointed.
The horse "puppets" worked by 3 actors to each horse, were incredible - after only a few minutes we felt as though we were watching real horses - brilliant.
As well as the horses there was also a puppet goose which was hilarious (it actually looked as though it was falling to bits, which simply added to its charm!)
The story pretty much followed the book.
The downside for me I missed a lot of the dialogue as I found it very difficult to hear - knowing the story helped.
Overall superb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieshrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What's not to like? Touching story, all the more heartbreaking as it's based in reality, brilliant puppetry and beautiful acting. So grateful I got to see it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whippetgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“War Horse”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was a huge disappointment, apart from the excellent puppetry. It was badly acted, slow and boring. I do not understand what all the fuss is about. I have never been to a London show where there has not been a standing ovation at the end, not one person in the audience stood for the rather week applause. It was a relief to get out. I have seen the film version and I wept buckets of tears, so I went prepared with loads of tissues, but they were not needed. The whole show was very hammy, and I begrudge the money spent on the tickets. Also the foreign languages where unnecessary, it went on too long and the audience got restless. All very amateurish. Really disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank janet504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selattyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for all the family.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Only one complaint about it and that was that we couldn't see the whole of it because a young girl was leaning over the barrier, although we expected to have an obstructed view due to the safety rail this was very distracting.
Overall a brilliant play, the puppetry was amazing, very controlled and well thought out down to the fine detail such as the horses breathing.
The goose provided a welcome relief from the trauma in the plot with it's realistic yet comedic antics.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarikaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Horse also viewed

 

Been to War Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing