We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun fun fun!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock of Ages - CLOSED

Rock of Ages
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
366 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

OK its not the strongest story but what a great way to spend 3 hours of your life. Cant remember laughing so mcuh at a show in ages. The music is familiar to those of my generation and others much younger as lets face it these tunes get rolled out time after time on the radio and in films etc. I thought the cast which did not include any big names were excelle nt and as mentioned by others the narrator 'Lonny' really makes the show. A big thumbs up from me and a massive standing ovation from the crowd on the day (best Ive seen in ages) so they must be doing something right.
And one further point. To the guy who complained about not being allowed to take photos and videos. ITS THE RULES. EVERYONE KNOWS THAT. THE WORLD WOULD BE A BETTER PLACE IF SOME PEOPLE DIDNT THINK THAT THE RULES DO NOT APPLY TO THEM BECAUSE SOMEHOW THEY ARE SPECIAL

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    136
    49
    20
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mysen, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great show!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is my second time to see Rock of Ages, this time in the Garrick theatre and our seats were not the best. Luckily a few empty seats enabled us to move into a better location. The show itself is a fireworks of a show. Great music, great humor and the talent on stage is unrivaled. If you come here with a stiff upper lip and a plan to see something culturally sophisticated, you're in the wrong place. This is just loads of fun and wonderful rock music. We all loved it!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Epleskrotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply the best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Simon Lipkin leads the most fabulously talented team of performers in the greatest musical in London. Such energy and immaculate timing in comedy and singing will leave you wanting to book to see it again. It really is a mischievous guilty pleasure - enough naughtiness to make you laugh as you sing-a-long at the top of your voice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Watched the film befor we visited london, and thought it was a bit of a "Chic flic" and would I like it.
Well yes I did, the show has a fantastic cast. Just sit back and enjoy. It's just an 80's rock tribute with a story to help it along. With some great comedy moments thrown in along the way.
Simon Lipkin as Lonny was just outstanding, you were left wanting more at the end.

Well done guys 100% in my book.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BilkoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was really looking forward to watching this musical from all the advertising in the London Underground, however when we got there it was not what I expected. Didn't really get to hear much of the nice 'oldies' and the there was just too much of the 'obscene' and insinuation type humor. My friend and I left in the intermission.
However, must say that most people there seemed to enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sherine204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock of Ages also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing