We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disapointment”
Review of Central Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Station
Ranked #230 of 560 London B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disapointment”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

By far the wost value of our five-week European tour. Our room was on the third floor, no elevator, for luggage, The bathroom was shared by up to four guest rooms - the linoleum on the floor was cracked and lifted, the paint was peeling, the wood-work was cracked. The room was absolutely tiny - one had to sidle sideways next to the wall, to get over to the top of the bed. The bed was OK, but the barest minimum for two adults, don't be overweight.
The service and the bar areas were fine and the breakfast was included and was ample, but the room - what a disapointment, and this for 80 Pounds ($130CDN) per night.

Room Tip: If you are a single back packer with 80 Pounds a night to spare - this is for you, otherwise, stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martincentral, Owner at Central Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. i'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. There are in fact two bathrooms between four rooms, two doubles and two singles. The other rooms are en-suite. The top floor bathroom is scheduled to be upgraded over the winter months when we are quieter. The room you booked (number 33) is marketed as a small double & priced accordingly, you were quite aware of this at the time of booking, so why your surprise that it's a small room. We don't have a lift as the age and layout of the building doesn't allow us to install one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    20
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
11
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have stayed at Central Station on a number of occasions while visiting the capital. It is right around the corner from Kings Cross which makes it ideal for a couple of nights exploring London's sights.

The accommodation is clean and tidy and the staff have always been exceptionally friendly and helpful.

When I last stayed there (Jan 2012) the rates were still reasonable, but they sadly put them up for the London Olympics, and haven't really lowered them.

This now means that for the price you are paying, you can also stay in Travel Lodge hotels. It is for this reason and this reason alone that I rate it 4 out of 5 - if they had kept the prices at their PRE London Olympic rates, then it would have gotten 5 out of 5.

Overall though, a highly recommended venue if you want somewhere that is clean, tidy and smack bang in the middle of London.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get less noise from the bar and club below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe16121982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked this B&B because of my late arrival at Kings X/St Pancras and was warmly welcomed in the bar, with a nice half of IPA. Was almost sorry I wasn't hungry, as the food looked rather good. Single room small but perfectly adequate for an overnight. Quiet, with nice urban view. Excellent freshly-cooked breakfast next morning, and again, friendly service. Unbeatable price. Kings X/Caledonian Road/York Way enclave has improved almost beyond recognition from the days I used to catch my bus home from the stop by the high, dark wall in York Way.

Positive experience prompted me to book a second night on my way back, to be close to the station before an early morning train. Change of staff, but equally friendly service. In my crack-of-dawn dash, I forgot a crucial bag and galloped back -- to very kind staff who promptly dispatched me and the bag back in time to catch train by skin of teeth. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Pluses: location, location, location; friendly staff; modest rooms a bit like bedrooms in many friends' houses; good breakfast; lots of tea, coffee, milk available for guests in their rooms, not the measly counted-out quotas you get in most budget hotels. Welcoming bar. I wasn't the only woman travelling alone to be a guest on my two separate nights.

Minuses: a bit well-worn in parts and deserves some freshening up that would make the experience even better. (Toilet in shared bathroom on 3rd floor wobbled and needed some persuasion to flush properly; stair carpet and doormat by guest exit have seen better days.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

room was on the 3rd floor floor we laughed at the earplugs and just said we'll just get drunk lol went for drink before our show didnt cotton on there was a drag artist advertised lola lasagne so after seeing the show we decided to check it out when we walked in it took a couple of minuetes to realise its a gay bar i laughed at my husbands face he got tortured by the drag artist never laughed so much everyone was really friendly i loved it i even snooped into the goings on down stairs lol but all in all the room was clean bed comfy didnt need the ear plugs and a good nights sleep mind you the breakfast room was disgusting nothing had been cleaned away empty glasses and dirty tissue put you off food i stuck to juice and toast had a good laugh when we left car't say well be staying there again but glad we did hubby wont ban me from reading reviews anymore lol

Room Tip: top floor we stayed in room 33 its small but comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phsfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was small and tired and we had an unfortunate warning to what our nights sleep would be like when on our bed we saw two towels and a pair of earplugs! These were made necessary due to the nightclub underneath the hotel. The shared bathroom was fine. All pretty basic but what else would you expect for a cheap nights stay in london. The main positive was the closeness to Kings Cross Station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chemgeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

First things first - it is a gay hotel, located above one of North London's oldest and best known gay nightclubs (we can't really talk about what goes on there as this is a family website....!) and it is therefore aimed primarily at that audience. Don't stay here if you are expecting a quiet night (or indeed posh facilities) because even on the top level, the boom boom boom from down below in the basement (no pun intended...) will be in the background. The staff are all really friendly, they do a great cooked breakfast (and the restaurant is supposedly good as well, although I've never tried it). The standard of housekeeping is average, and the rooms are mostly not en-suite.

But best of all, it is very cheap, much cheaper walk-up rates than any other big name chain - King's Cross is rapidly becoming more and more gentrified with all the regeneration work that is going on, the price of staying in this part of London is going up accordingly. In all, a quirky place to lay your head for the night.....its clientele (myself included) can forgive its numerous faults.

Room Tip: Top floor if you want to minimise the din from the basement nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Is excellent location being only 5 mins walk from Kings Cross which gives very good accessibility to the rest of London on the Tube as well as well serviced night buses after hours.

The hotel / B&B is located above a busy night club so if you're wanting a quiet night in, this is probably not the place for you ! If you are there to party, it is perfect as after a night out, you can continue to party down stairs until the early hours with out the trek home !

The place is currently going refurbishment and should be very nice when it it is complete. The rating should increase when this happens but does seem to be taking a very long time. We stayed in the en-suite room which was lovely, new and spotless.

Breakfast is included and is the usual full English.

We will continue to use this place as our base for our regular weekends in London.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edinpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,069 in London
916 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#130 of 1,069 in London
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,922 reviews
Home London
#479 of 874 in London
268 reviews
Keystone House
#461 of 874 in London
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Station

Property: Central Station
Address: 37 Wharfdale Road | King's Cross, London N1 9SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Station London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing