We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious & Private Hotel Style Suite”
other travelers have booked this property
Large family room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large family room
Shower in utility room downstairs Downstairs shower room / toilet and utility room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Large family room
Shower in utility room downstairs
Downstairs shower room / toilet and utility room
Shutters
Blue shutters
Side entrance with parking
Side walkway.  Front door to Guest Suite
Aerial view of back garden
Red Rose in back garden
Bumble Bee Landing on our Lavender
Secure gate to front door of our Guest Suite
Showing various bed options in Family room
Kitchen end of Family room
Door from Family room through to Super king bedroom
Superking bedroom has lovely view of garden
Sofa bed in Family room has view of back garden
Large sink and dishwasher
Sanderstead Station with trains to London Victoria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ArcticExp...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious & Private Hotel Style Suite”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Our 5 days stay during the winter was indeed a great one when we were touring Europe for a month. The Guest Suite was all more like a 2-3 bedroom villa with the English reno & deco feel. The spacious master bedroom with huge king size bed lets you sleep like a log. I love the closet with access to the bathroom concept (spacious bathroom with shower & bath tub separately). The second bedroom is spacious and well decorated too. A big plus is having a functional kitchen in the suite overlooking the living and dining area. We love home cook food, so whipping a fluffy omelette for breakfast to simply spaghetti for dinner keeps you full when touring London.

Waitrose supermarket is around the corner and merely 5 mins walk getting all you need for your stay. They have everything fresh other shops conveniently located.

In the beginning, we thought of getting a rental car but the bus and train system was indeed efficient and all that you need to get to London within minutes. The bus stop is also around the corner or 3 mins walk. The overground train from East Croydon to Victoria is efficient and on time. You will have seamless tube connections at Victoria and to other parts of London.

In the evening from London, we make few stops and grab some food. There are tons of shops, bakeries, supermarkets and restaurants/cafes both at Victoria and at East Croydon which is conveniently located.

If you are looking for a short to long term stay with a comfy place and conveniently accessible, the Guest Suite is all you need.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skorpyo25
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We had an excellent welcome from the owners. The location is beautiful and extremely well positioned, just 3 minutes from the railway station where is possible to get a train to the center of London. The rooms are comfortable and the garden is lovely. Additionally it is possible to park the car in the garage connected directly with the resort. We surely would try all we can to have another holiday there. Wifi internet available with absolute no problem at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fj b
madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION, GREAT HOSTESS !!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We had a very nice time at Guest Suite. We stayed two weeks with three kids from 6 to 10. We found it very well located: to go to London takes less than 30 minutes by train and we discovered lots of places in the sourrunding area with a short driving. Special mention to the very beautiful garden and the kindness of the host and hostess. Fully recomended !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, the bedrooms, the host, the easy parking, the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredEd
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for Wedding”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I live not far from this area, however because I have a lot of family coming over from abroad to attend my wedding, I had to look for a place for them to stay. Coming over to England wouldn’t be complete without visiting London, however knowing London inside out had made me a little bit protective towards their safety. Hence, I booked this place because I know it is safe, quiet, perfect with family (even with kids) and most importantly it is convenient to go to London with public transport.

Traditionally, the Groom is not allowed to see the Bride at least 3 days before the wedding, therefore my wife (fiancé then) had to stay with her family at this place away from me. I had to say that my wife was really happy that we made that decision; the atmosphere at the location was perfect for photography for our wedding, moreover she had enough time to catch up with all her family.

Irene (host) was absolutely helpful with had made our wedding prep even smoother. The property was clean, bedding was fantastic, and Irene went a stone ahead by providing us a cot for my wife nephew (you can imagine a kid without it, as it would be a disaster). My extended family really enjoyed it and thinking of coming back to visit us again.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, a little far from London”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As a place to stay, the Guest Suite was very nice. Irene (the owner) is very pleasant and more than helpful, there is plenty of space (I was there with my wife, mother, and aunt... so we needed space), and all the amenities you'd want are available. I could continue with a host of compliments for the place; I would certainly stay here again.

However, if your primary daily destination is London, make sure you are prepared to travel (assuming you're going to take public transport). At best, you can get to London Bridge station in 30 minutes (10 minute bus ride to the train station, 20 minute train ride to London Bridge). However, it's a 5 minute walk to the bus stop and you always want to get to the station early; so you wind up taking 45 minutes to an hour. That being said, this is probably the nicest rental I've ever had; just a bit further away than expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of rental
Liked least: Poor WiFi connection outside bedrooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mela555
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing part of the holiday”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Irene is lovely, she was very welcoming and had lots of information available about London and the area round the house. It was great being able to come back to the house after the hustle and bustle of London and just relax, the suite is really comfortable and spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryAndJ...
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for and more!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I truly cannot say enough about this Guest Suite and the owners. Mrs. Couchman made us feel completely at home, more like welcome guests than paying customers. The Guest Suite is large, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The four of us had plenty of room. If our van were smaller we could have parked in the garage. We parked in the driveway instead. Wonderful! The garden in the back is exquisite and relaxing.

Mrs. Couchman recommended an excellent restaurant for us within walking distance (Modern Times) and loaned us a rolling cart for our walk to the grocery store. The neighborhood is lovely and peaceful. It is the perfect place to stay for a visit to London. We were able to quickly get into the heart of the city by train, but were able to leave the congestion behind us to relax in this quiet, charming neighborhood. There is a park very nearby for those with smaller children.

We fell in love with the Couchman's and this Guest Suite!! An excellent value!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is the perfect English Cottage and Garden! Lovely and Peaceful!!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing