We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything I hoped for and more!”
other travelers have booked this property
Large family room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large family room
Shower in utility room downstairs Downstairs shower room / toilet and utility room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Large family room
Shower in utility room downstairs
Downstairs shower room / toilet and utility room
Shutters
Blue shutters
Side entrance with parking
Side walkway.  Front door to Guest Suite
Aerial view of back garden
Red Rose in back garden
Bumble Bee Landing on our Lavender
Secure gate to front door of our Guest Suite
Showing various bed options in Family room
Kitchen end of Family room
Door from Family room through to Super king bedroom
Superking bedroom has lovely view of garden
Sofa bed in Family room has view of back garden
Large sink and dishwasher
Sanderstead Station with trains to London Victoria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LarryAndJ...
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for and more!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I truly cannot say enough about this Guest Suite and the owners. Mrs. Couchman made us feel completely at home, more like welcome guests than paying customers. The Guest Suite is large, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The four of us had plenty of room. If our van were smaller we could have parked in the garage. We parked in the driveway instead. Wonderful! The garden in the back is exquisite and relaxing.

Mrs. Couchman recommended an excellent restaurant for us within walking distance (Modern Times) and loaned us a rolling cart for our walk to the grocery store. The neighborhood is lovely and peaceful. It is the perfect place to stay for a visit to London. We were able to quickly get into the heart of the city by train, but were able to leave the congestion behind us to relax in this quiet, charming neighborhood. There is a park very nearby for those with smaller children.

We fell in love with the Couchman's and this Guest Suite!! An excellent value!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is the perfect English Cottage and Garden! Lovely and Peaceful!!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsedMeat
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was great. My wife and I took our parents on a London vacation and this was our home base. The first thing you will notice is what an amazing hostess Irene is. She makes you feel at home right away, it was like visiting family. She is so helpful and attentive. I can't say enough good things about Irene.

The house is very nice. Tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There are handy notes around the house to help you with little things. The yard is huge and well maintained. Everything was super clean and well maintained.

The trip into London takes about 35 minutes. There is a bus station just around the corner from the house that will take you to West Croyden, from there there it's a walk across the street to the train station and a trip into Victoria station London. Be warned though if you are coming home late at night the West Croyden bus station is a sketchy area. I wasn't too concerned but I wouldn't let me wife be alone there at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place was even better than we expected.
Liked least: The WiFi signal was a little weak, still no problems though.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrikins
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find - excellent accommodation and Host”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Guest Suite whilst visiting London. We like to let people know information of our experience that may help them make their minds up, and hope this review will assist.

Our Host Irene was wonderful and extremely helpful. The accommodation itself was amazing and very spacious. There were 4 adults in my party, and both bedrooms (the red room and blue room) were very spacious, as was the large dining/lounge area. The garden was huge. There is a "Jack and Jill” bathroom that is shared by both bedrooms, but this caused no problems for sharing whatsoever. There is a shower as well as a bath, and a large wash basin. At your disposal is a garage for parking your car and there's also another space on the driveway if you have more in your Party. The self-catering facilities very well planned out and there was everything you could wish for. Irene's little touches of luxurious towels, shampoo and shower gel etc were very thoughtful indeed. All in all, an absolutely fabulous place to stay. I don't think you will find even 5* accommodation as good as this. When we come back (which we know we will do), we will not hesitate to use Irene's lovely home and facilities again. Personally, I do not think you could find any better so there's no need to keep searching for suitable accommodation if you plan to go see the London sights. I also know that this is a brilliant place to be if you wanted to visit areas other than London, for instance, excellent for golfers etc. The area itself is really lovely, and lots of facilities including an assortment of restaurants and good Supermarket (Waitrose) are just up the road.

From this accommodation, there is no problem getting in and out of London. We parked our car at Sandstead Train Station, just 1 kilometre away. Cost for parking all day is £5 (or there is another car park opposite for £4.10). Plenty of spaces in January at both car parks. We would recommend purchasing an all day train ticket for £8.90 which allows you unlimited travel on all trains and underground tube. I believe you can save more if you get 2 or 3 day passes as well. The trains come every half an hour and take you to Victoria Station starting from 11 minutes past the hour (winter times, summer may be different). Victoria is a good place to start as once you go out of the station, turn right, continue up the road and you come to Buckingham Palace. We then went back to Victoria and on the underground Green Circle line to visit Tower of London (join a Beefeater Tour for best historical info) and saw the Crown Jewels, then went on back to Westminster, St Paul's and finished up on the London Eye. A very good route to get a few of the "must sees" done in an easy way. Another day, we did try another route by going to East Croydon Railway Station to pick up the fast train (11 minutes to London Tower), but frankly, we think the Sandstead Route is less hassle and far easier to park etc.

Good tip - If you get a train ticket for the day, find the London Attractions 2 for 1 offers Leaflet as it saves you loads of money (Irene has lots of Leaflets etc available in the Guest Suite. For the 4 of us, it cost us half price to get in to all the attractions i.e. £14 for the two of us for London Eye rather than £14 each - brilliant saving!

Personal note to Irene - thanks for a wonderful time - you were the icing on the cake for a fantastic stay. We would not hesitate to recommend you - we will certainly stay at your property again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was 1st class
Liked least: No negative comment whatsoever
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, comfortable, homely feel
Liked least: May have benefitted from an extra bathroom when at full capacity
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H0lland5
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Great place to stay with a young family”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

we loved this place it was the perfect base for our trip to the London Olympics. Its only a short train ride into central london. The kids loved the large back garden to play in and there was a park just behind the house too so its perfect for kids. Irene was so helpful and made our stay a very relaxing and enjoyable one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a home away from home
Liked least: you need a car to get to the shops
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed November 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location/gorgeous flat inside & out/great garden for the kids to run around!
Liked least: had to take the bus to grocery store if you don't have a car
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Relax6788...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2016
When this guest asked to book I explained that we had other guests arriving very early on his day of departure and that an early check out would be required and he accepted this. He also accepted to pay a heating supplement in December. I would not recommend these guests to you as they were extremely noisy until 3 am in the morning the night before departure and dangerously they smoked in the bedroom leaving cigarette ash on the window ledges (we are a non-smoking property), This is an extremely unkind review and I hope other potential guests will read all the previous reviews before this one. We had provided fresh milk and bread and cheese and tea and coffee and biscuits for their arrival after midnight as we always look after our guests - please read all previous reviews - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing