We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nell Gwynn House Apartments
Ranked #74 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were familiar with Nell Gwynn and decided to stay again during the Olympics.

Reservations were relatively easy and they did not raise rates during the event. We rented through the management company. The location is great; there are 2 stations nearby and a another within walking distance. There are shops (grocery to high end retailers) and restaurants (along all price points). Hyde Park, Harrods, Sloane St and museums are all within walking distance. We stayed in a 2 br unit which had ample room for 4 adults.

A few negatives are that the bedrooms and hall to the bath needed to be freshened and there was only 1 tv (we didn't watch much except when we returned exhausted). Also, there is no wi-fi although some of their marketing indicates there is.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_a_mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed here several times as we enjoy the location and the practicality of Nell Gwynn BUT never again!
Last May, we came to London on the occasion of my husband's 40's birthday. We were staying in a 2 bedroom flat. Family and friends came over with big bags of branded gifts : Montblanc cufflinks, a big Carolina Herera travel bag, a very heavy pair of leather Church's shoes in their cardboard Church's box and a pair of cedar wood shoe shapers from Church's in their Church's shoe box as well. The total value is close to 1000£.
All of these items are heavy (leather and wood) and in beautiful bags.
And as we thought that Nell Gwynn was a reputable company, we never thought we had to hide these items in our bags!
Anyway we returned one day to our flat to find these bags were gone. We spoke to management, they eventually said the cleaner "threw" these items by mistake as she thought they were trash!!! They asked us to claim this "incident" to our insurance company!!! They were uncooperative when it came to further investigation. They never provided the CCTV footage that the people requested. They did nothing about this although it is very obviously a theft as these 3 or 4 bags were HEAVY and in no way could anyway mistake them for trash!!!
We had to travel and they promised to compensate for us. But off course they never did. They even stopped replying to our emails.
We are SO disappointed in their management, we spoke to many people in management and even opened a case with the police, but they did nothing about it.
We have never heard of any reputable companies that would allow anything like this to happen.
We will never return to Nell Gwynn, we now stay at Monarch House, on High Street Kensington. It is way better, cleaner, brighter, better value and it is very well managed and at least the staff are safe.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Yasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I think you cannot get better than Nell Gwynn House Apartments when staying in London! They are located right by King's Road and Fullham Road, not to mention the Sainsbury's right across the building and the parking space available.

The staff are super friendly and many restaurant deliver for free! The rooms are well kept but be sure to ask for a non-smoking flat. For those of you who love Starbucks its right opposite the building as well and laundry is a hop skip away =) Ladies try the nail spa next to Starbucks its amazing!

Level 2 and above are great as there is a school nearby which might disturb those who like to sleep in =)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uaeiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we rented privately although you can also rent through the apartment management. Our one bedroom was perfectly equpped for a one week stay, spotlessly clean and included wireless intern. A small supermarket across the road along with a Starbucks meant we could eat breakfast and the occasional dinner in the flat before going to the theatre. WOuld definitely stay there again. Ten minute walk to either Sloane Square or South Kensington tube stops and 15 minutes to Hyde Park for wonderful long walks. Lots of lovely places to eat nearby (highly recommend the Markham Inn) and its delightful to just wander through charming Chelsea streets.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVLTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent 2 weeks in London and stayed here for a week in a 2bed 2 bath apartment - I was glad to get a 2 bed/2bathroom apartment as some apartments came only with one bathroom and rates were the same for 1 bath or 2 bath apartment. I was impressed by the size of the lobby (huge!) and the fact that they had more than one lift and it could hold quite a few people. This is a plus as most serviced apartments in London has very tiny lifts that could hardly accommodate more than 3 people.

Overall, the apartment was clean, well lit although the bathrooms could use a bit more cleaning - spotted some dark spots around the bath tub area..

What I liked most was the location of the apartment complex. It was very close to the tube, convenient walk to a local Sainsbury (small but holds the essentials), is a 5 minute walk to a fantastic array of restaurants and shops and not to mention not too far from the tube and bus stops..

However, beware that the washer/dryer provided takes forever to dry your clothes - in fact if you wanted your clothes to dry within a 90 minute cycle, be sure to put no more than 5-7 pieces of washed clothing ! And oh, buy your detergent and other basics after you check in as no essentials such as coffee, tea, dish washing soap are provided .

Overall, a good place to stay while in London.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatDucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The fact that I was able to stay in a condo in the Chelsea neighborhood for a reasonable price was an offer I could not refuse. It's located right along Sloane Avenue, minutes from Kings Road in one direction and Brompton Road in the other. 10 minute walk from Sloane tube or 10 minutes from South Kennsington tube (which made getting around the city so convenient). The apartment was conveniently located across the street from a pharmacy, local grocery store and a much needed Starbucks! It was perfect. From the minute we arrived to the minute we departed the staff at the apartment complex were great--always willing to help when needed. Although the one bedroom apartment (equipped with sofa bed and roll-a-way bed) at times felt a bit cramped with five people, it was lovely. We stayed in room 640 which was nicely furnished, clean, and complete with cable television with over 700 channels. Although it was disappointing to not have complimentary wireless internet (you could opt to pay for it), it just gave me another reason to pay a visit to Starbucks across the street. Overall, I greatly enjoyed where we stayed and would recommend it over a hotel. It gave you the feeling that you lived within the neighborhood, plus it was removed from central downtown and the craziness of London attractions. Plus you can't beat the Chelsea neighborhood- so classy! The only recommendation I have is if the staff could give a tutorial upon check-in on how to use the washer/dryer, where to take the rubbish when the cans were fully etc. Although we didn't use the washer/dryer, and eventually found out where the rubbish went, it would have been a good thing to know in the beginning. But it was great and I am very pleased that we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzyJ276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed there for about 9 nights.

NGHA is indeed very centrally located:
A few minutes walk from King's Cross
About 15 min walk from Harrods
About 20 min walk from the Sloane Avenue station

Check in was very easy and the reception staff very helpful.

The room, although wore out a bit and basic was clean and spacious which is very important to me.

Sainsburry was right across the street so that was a plus.

We were lucky to stay here as we got both, reasonable accomodation in expensive London and very centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abeer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#532 of 1,075 in London
624 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#93 of 1,075 in London
810 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#561 of 1,075 in London
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#246 of 1,075 in London
462 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#201 of 1,075 in London
1,181 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Cloisters
Chelsea Cloisters
#513 of 908 in London
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nell Gwynn House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nell Gwynn House Apartments

Address: Nell Gwynn House Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $139 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nell Gwynn House Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, fully furnished Studio Flat in fantastic Nell Gwyn block of apartments, on Sloane Avenue in the heart of Chelsea and Knighstbridge. With SKY and Broadband, cleaning facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nell Gwynn House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nell Gwynn House Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing