We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL GARDEN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Gate

The Garden Gate
Ranked #9,432 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Garden Gate, the front door to the best alfresco fun in north London. Our beer garden is one of the city's finest, while inside is pretty inspiring, too. This 19th century pub has a long tradition of accommodating weary walkers and lovely locals from Hampstead Heath, and today we're doing it in style with fresh, home-cooked pub food, a stunning choice of speciality drinks and an ultra-relaxed atmosphere.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL GARDEN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Happened upon this pub on a lovely sunny afternoon and the garden is absolutely gorgeous. Interior of pub attractive too. The service was really friendly and efficient - in a very very busy pub. Food choices were not vast but what we ate was very good - will re-visit if we ever return to this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MairGravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    58
    22
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch - with the dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Made a last minute booking here and had a great Sunday lunch.
Staf were really friendly even though it was very busy.
They also have lots of other food and a BBQ as well as the Sunday lunch. So plenty for everyone.
Starters crab, and makerel were both great.
Pork mains were delicious. And the desert great.
And dogs are very welcome, which helps as the heath is so close.
Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFrankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beer Garden Setting - Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to England for a wedding and all met up at the Garden Gate Beer Garden for beers and dinner. Great assortment of beers, of course, and we all had fish and chips. We loved the meal, the beer and the location. Friendly servers, decently priced, nice garden patio setting. Not much else to say.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome at the Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Popular with the locals the Garden Gate is right in the heart of Hampstead Village. They do a pretty good selection of beers, ales and ciders topped up with a good food menu. We had a chicken caesar which was great and salmon fishcakes which were packed with salmon and very hearty. I asked for salad with my fishcakes which wasn't what was available on the menu and they were happy to accommodate. When it came the salad was a mix of leaves with all sorts of goodies with them such as spring onions and peppers. The average meal is approx £10 with steaks at £17. On hot weekends they barbecue out back and serve a great selection of burgers. One of the nicest things about the Garden Gate though is the staff, they have staff from a wide array of places working for them who are all really polite and helpful, they are happy to let you try anything on tap before you buy and quick to make a good food recommendations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joleenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bar, Good Staff, Great Atmospher, Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Bar / Restaurant is perfectly located next to Hampstead heath park. They have one of my favorite beers on tap from Cheq called Kozel.
The outside garden seating area is also fantastic for nice sunny days.
Yesterday I ate the roast pork belly, it was Fantastic. Really hit the spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MasterDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Gate also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Garden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing